Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: I installed light and cut the cord before I tried it.... 120v to 12v

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Tupelo, MS
    Posts
    13

    I installed light and cut the cord before I tried it.... 120v to 12v

    I just changed my liner and installed a Pentair Amerilite pool light. Once I had it in, I cut off the excess cord.

    Well it did not work, and I was then informed that I have a 120v to 12v converter for the light.

    Would I bypass this thing, and what would someone suggest about a GFCI and its placement...

    Thanks, I dont want to buy another light.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,337

    Re: I installed light and cut the cord before I tried it.... 120v to 12v

    Did you hook it directly to 120 volts? If so, and it's the 12volt version, the lamp is most likely burnt out. The Amerlite comes in two versions. 12 volt and 120 volt. You need to make sure which you have. If you have the 12 volt version and it's burnt out you can replace the lamp with a 120 volt one and it should be fine. You will need to install a GFCI wherever the light hooks to.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Tupelo, MS
    Posts
    13

    Re: I installed light and cut the cord before I tried it.... 120v to 12v

    The light is 120V and the power supply is 12V so I hope it didnt burn out.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    gtemkin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    738

    Re: I installed light and cut the cord before I tried it.... 120v to 12v

    Yes, to power a 120V light you would hook it up directly to a 120V GFCI protected circuit and bypass any previously installed 120V to 12V converter. The GFCI could be in the form of a box mounted GFCI receptacle or a GFCI circuit breaker installed in your CB panel.

    Edit: When you say you cut the cord, I'm assuming you cut it at a terminal box location away from the pool and not at the lighting niche itself. That very important to know.
    21K gal 16' x 40' in-ground pool built 1959, old school with Jacuzzi bronze pump, American Products 24" Sand Filter & Americana Multiport valve, Jandy Lite2 millivolt heater, Coverstar cover, and classic Kreepy Krauly.

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,337

    Re: I installed light and cut the cord before I tried it.... 120v to 12v

    Did the transformer come with the light?

    As GT said, it's important to know where you cut the cord.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •