Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: What does everyone use to measure out bleach? I'd prefer not to eyeball.

1. Back To Top    #1

What does everyone use to measure out bleach? I'd prefer not to eyeball.

This might have an obvious answer, but I don't know it. When adding smaller amounts of bleach to the pool, do you guys measure it first or just eyeball it? For instance the bleach comes in 121 oz jugs and I need to add 2 Qts, 6 oz. Is there a recommended measuring pitcher to buy? I've seen some around, but they are food grade and kind of pricey. I'm still new to the method and I'm trying to be as precise as possible until I get a good handle of things. Thanks in advance.
    33K gal. Super Steel Grecian IG (built 1994), Vinyl Liner (Replaced 2013), Jacuzzi EW 75 DE Filter (Original 1994), 1 HP Heyward Super II Pump, TF-100 Test Kit, Polaris 380 Cleaner

2. Back To Top    #2

What does everyone use to measure out bleach? I'd prefer not to eyeball.

I use a 1 quart plastic measuring cup. If I need more than a quart like when I'm using 8.25% bleach , I usually need more than a quart, so I measure it out and dump it in a bucket then the pool. 😎
    Jeff
    24'x54" AG Morada RTR (by wilbar) 13'500 gal. Hayward Powerflo Matrix 1hp 2 speed. Hayward Perflex EC65 DE filter.

3. Back To Top    #3

Re: What does everyone use to measure out bleach? I'd prefer not to eyeball.

A one or two quart plastic measuring cup works well (it's what I've used for years). We have a rule at our house where glass measuring cups are used for food and plastic measuring cups are for chemicals. Eliminates the risk of any cross-contamination.