Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Mistakenly added stabilizer to pool

1. Back To Top    #1

Mistakenly added stabilizer to pool

Yes, I am a rookie!

I have an algae problem (mustard, I believe). After reading through your awesome forum yesterday, I figured out that I need to SLAM my pool.

Yesterday afternoon I vacuumed the “dust looking” scum off of the bottom of the pool and brushed it thoroughly. I headed out to buy a testing kit and lots of liquid chlorine. I wasn’t able to get the proper testing kit, and will have to try a different store this morning.

I tested the water last night, just using the test strips that I had. The chlorine was obviously extremely low, the ph was low and the stabilizer was about 30 (close guess, since I was using the strips). I went to adjust the ph up a little, and here’s where I messed up……UUUGH! The “ph up” container/jug looks just like the stabilizer container, and I mistakenly added about a pound of slabilizer directly to the pool water. I didn’t realize it at the time, and later went on to add 4 gallons of 10% liquid chlorine.

I ran the pump all night. This morning I noticed that I had the stabilizer container out and not the ph container. Since a higher stabilizer level means adding more chlorine to reach the shock level, my question is this:

If stabilizer takes a long time to dissolve, I’m guessing that it is probably sitting on the bottom of my pool in granular form (I can’t really see the bottom of my pool). Can I manually vacuum it up and wash it out of my filter, or, is it too late for that? Water is scarce in southern California and I really don’t want to replace water in the pool. I would like to avoid having to purchase a lot more chlorine than necessary if I can get some of this stabilizer out. I don’t have the test kit yet (store is not open), so I really can’t test the current CYA.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thank You!

2. Back To Top    #2