Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Raypak 106 Won't Ignite

  1. Back To Top    #1
    bobhall98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Southwestern PA
    Posts
    23

    Raypak 106 Won't Ignite

    I got a new Raypak 106, hooked it up tonight, first time I turned it on it sparked a few times and then it came on and seemed to working OK. Then it seemed to be turning off and on and finally it was off completely. I turned the switch off and back on but not hearing any spark, am I missing something?
    8200 Gal. AGP 12'x 24'x 54" Sharkline Oceanic - Hayward 1.5 Single Speed Pump - Hayward D.E. Filter

  2. Back To Top    #2
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,965

    Re: Raypak 106 Won't Ignite

    How's your filter pressure? Some heaters have a pressure/flow switch and if your flow is reduced it won't turn on.
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

  3. Back To Top    #3
    bobhall98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Southwestern PA
    Posts
    23

    Re: Raypak 106 Won't Ignite

    Pressure is good, just did back flush.
    8200 Gal. AGP 12'x 24'x 54" Sharkline Oceanic - Hayward 1.5 Single Speed Pump - Hayward D.E. Filter

  4. Back To Top    #4
    bobhall98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Southwestern PA
    Posts
    23

    Re: Raypak 106 Won't Ignite

    It was the rollout switch, we jumpered it out and the heater started right up and worked perfectly. I was wondering if it is OK to run it without the rollout switch for a couple of days until I get a new switch.
    8200 Gal. AGP 12'x 24'x 54" Sharkline Oceanic - Hayward 1.5 Single Speed Pump - Hayward D.E. Filter

  5. Back To Top    #5

    In the Industry

    ps0303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,436

    Re: Raypak 106 Won't Ignite

    Is this a brand new unit? You really need to figure out why the rollout went out. If this isn't a new unit then I would check to see if the heat exchanger needs cleaning. If you run the unit without the rollout and the flames do rollout it could burn up the wiring inside and then you have a bigger issue.
    Paul
    http://www.gastekservices.com A word of caution: When working with gas and electrical you might want to consider a licensed contractor. Consider the value of your life and others around you. If you would like to provide a review of the help I provided, please use the following link to leave a review. gastek - Google Search,

  6. Back To Top    #6
    bobhall98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Southwestern PA
    Posts
    23

    Re: Raypak 106 Won't Ignite

    Quote Originally Posted by ps0303 View Post
    Is this a brand new unit? You really need to figure out why the rollout went out. If this isn't a new unit then I would check to see if the heat exchanger needs cleaning. If you run the unit without the rollout and the flames do rollout it could burn up the wiring inside and then you have a bigger issue.
    It is a new unit, what would cause it to go bad? Do they go bad often? Could it have been bad from the factory?
    8200 Gal. AGP 12'x 24'x 54" Sharkline Oceanic - Hayward 1.5 Single Speed Pump - Hayward D.E. Filter

  7. Back To Top    #7

    In the Industry

    ps0303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,436

    Re: Raypak 106 Won't Ignite

    Anything is possible. I'd keep my eye on it though.
    Paul
    http://www.gastekservices.com A word of caution: When working with gas and electrical you might want to consider a licensed contractor. Consider the value of your life and others around you. If you would like to provide a review of the help I provided, please use the following link to leave a review. gastek - Google Search,

  8. Back To Top    #8
    bobhall98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Southwestern PA
    Posts
    23

    Re: Raypak 106 Won't Ignite

    Raypak is sending me a new roll-out switch.
    8200 Gal. AGP 12'x 24'x 54" Sharkline Oceanic - Hayward 1.5 Single Speed Pump - Hayward D.E. Filter

  9. Back To Top    #9

    TFP Guide

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    western NY
    Posts
    1,557

    Re: Raypak 106 Won't Ignite

    I am going to guess maybe the air fuel mixture is not set right. Also, if it was going off and on prior to shutting down there may be something amiss with the exhaust. Maybe a pressure switch/blower fan problem.
    Unknown make 18' above ground (bought used in 1999) Sparco sand filter. Hayward 100,000 BTu heater. 2 speed pump

  10. Back To Top    #10

    In the Industry

    ps0303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,436

    Re: Raypak 106 Won't Ignite

    These units don't have blower motors.

    I would not know why it would have tripped the rollout but I would keep my eye on it. If it happens again, get a service person out to look at it.
    Paul
    http://www.gastekservices.com A word of caution: When working with gas and electrical you might want to consider a licensed contractor. Consider the value of your life and others around you. If you would like to provide a review of the help I provided, please use the following link to leave a review. gastek - Google Search,

  11. Back To Top    #11

    TFP Guide

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    western NY
    Posts
    1,557

    Re: Raypak 106 Won't Ignite

    Quote Originally Posted by ps0303 View Post
    These units don't have blower motors.

    Yeah, my bad. Probably should have spent some time looking that model up. We don't have anyone around here that sells Raypaks so I never really see one. Mostly Haywards
    Unknown make 18' above ground (bought used in 1999) Sparco sand filter. Hayward 100,000 BTu heater. 2 speed pump

  12. Back To Top    #12
    bobhall98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Southwestern PA
    Posts
    23

    Re: Raypak 106 Won't Ignite

    Got the new roll-out switch, installed it, heater is working with no problems so far.
    8200 Gal. AGP 12'x 24'x 54" Sharkline Oceanic - Hayward 1.5 Single Speed Pump - Hayward D.E. Filter

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •