Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Stabilizer?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Broken Arrow, OK
    Posts
    10

    Stabilizer?

    Last year we had some repair done to our liner at the beginning of the season (our second to own the pool). So the pool had to be drained and then refilled half way. It was no surprise to me when our pool store (a local mom and pop) tested our water and told us that we needed more stabilizer. We added it.

    I normally do all of our testing, and stupidly, I never tested the stabilizer after that. We had problems with chlorine all summer. Toward the end I was fed up and took a sample into the company. They read that we had no stabilizer! So we added it and go it back up to proper level.

    The season (our third) we are getting a late start, we just started opening the pool. Took a sample in and guess what? No stabilizer.

    I am at a loss and so is the company.

    We havent added any more water to the pool than normal evaporation or loss from backwash. The first season we didn't have this problem. I would think that maybe the level would drop, but not completely! Especially when we use tabs with stabilizer!

    I dont want to fight my pool this season. Any ideas why we would be losing all of our stabilizer?

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    4,052

    Re: Stabilizer?

    It is very rare for stabilizer to disappear. One culprit is a leaking pool. Do you have an auto fill on your pool?

    Can you post all the specifics about your pool, or better yet add them to your signature line? Pool size, type (plaster, vinyl, fiberglass), etc.
    Built in 1957 44,000 gallon in-ground, Wet Edge Primera Stone in Sky Blue, Intelliflo VF Pump, 600 lb. Pentair Triton II TR-100 Sand Filter, CircuPool RG 60 Plus SWG, TF-100 test kit
    If TFP has helped you, please click to SUPPORT TFP!

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Mod Squad JVTrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Central Minnesota
    Posts
    5,079

    Re: Stabilizer?

    You say you normally do all your testing. How? Strips or test kit or how?

    How does the pool store test?

    Sounds like reliable testing would go a long way to helping demystify what's going on.
    Joel - TFP Moderator - Minnesota - **Become a TFP Supporter!** Helpful Links: ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry - SLAM Procedure - Chlorine/CYA Chart
    40x20 Pool: 32K Gallons * Vinyl * Bleach Chlorination * Hayward S270T Sand Filter * Pentair SuperFlo 1 HP * Teledyne/Laars Heater * AquaVac Tigershark * TF-100 w/ SpeedStir
    Isolated Spa - 345 Gallons

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Broken Arrow, OK
    Posts
    10

    Re: Stabilizer?

    We have a kit. Not the strips. It was purchased through Leslies Pools. Not sure if that is great or not, but it did wonderful our first season, so we bought another for the next.

    Not sure how the pool store tests. I havent seen it done in detail. It seems very involved and you get a computer print out.

    We have a 35,000 gallon, In ground, Liner pool. It was built in 1996, but everything is new in the last 3 years except the in ground plumbing. (New liner, new pump, new sand filter, new plumbing that isnt in ground) *someone tell me how to add all our info to the signature, and I can!*

    Nothing fancy. No auto fill etc...

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    4,052

    Re: Stabilizer?

    Under the Pool School button, click Settings, then on the left click Edit Profile.

    To measure CYA, do you mix pool water with a reagent, then drop it into a tube until a black dot disappears?
    Built in 1957 44,000 gallon in-ground, Wet Edge Primera Stone in Sky Blue, Intelliflo VF Pump, 600 lb. Pentair Triton II TR-100 Sand Filter, CircuPool RG 60 Plus SWG, TF-100 test kit
    If TFP has helped you, please click to SUPPORT TFP!

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Broken Arrow, OK
    Posts
    10

    Re: Stabilizer?

    Yes. It is the black dot thing.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    4,052

    Re: Stabilizer?

    Good, that's the right test.

    So you mix 50/50, shake it for 30 seconds, then you fill the tube completely to the top and can still clearly see the dot at the bottom of the tube?
    Built in 1957 44,000 gallon in-ground, Wet Edge Primera Stone in Sky Blue, Intelliflo VF Pump, 600 lb. Pentair Triton II TR-100 Sand Filter, CircuPool RG 60 Plus SWG, TF-100 test kit
    If TFP has helped you, please click to SUPPORT TFP!

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Broken Arrow, OK
    Posts
    10

    Re: Stabilizer?

    Yep. The black dot is still visible.

    I really dont think we have a leak. Since we are not having to add water to the pool...

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    4,052

    Re: Stabilizer?

    It is possible you have an ammonia issue. Is your chlorine demand high? You might read through this:
    http://www.troublefreepool.com/threa...Demand-Ammonia
    Built in 1957 44,000 gallon in-ground, Wet Edge Primera Stone in Sky Blue, Intelliflo VF Pump, 600 lb. Pentair Triton II TR-100 Sand Filter, CircuPool RG 60 Plus SWG, TF-100 test kit
    If TFP has helped you, please click to SUPPORT TFP!

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Broken Arrow, OK
    Posts
    10

    Re: Stabilizer?

    Read through it... how can we tell if ammonia is the issue? I am having a hard time following this...

    According to the post I dont want to add anymore stabilizer until I fix the ammonia issue right?

  11. Back To Top    #11
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Stabilizer?

    Add 10ppm FC, test in 30 minutes, if the CC are high and the FC is low, then you likely have ammonia. Or you can go to a pet store and buy an ammonia test.

    I would not add CYA until the CC drops and the FC starts to hold.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Broken Arrow, OK
    Posts
    10

    Re: Stabilizer?

    Oh my this makes me nervous as a newbie pool owner.

    1.) How do I figure out the PPM? Am I basically shocking the pool?
    2.) If I see that CC is high and FC is low... do I keep adding FC and keep testing?

    We have 0 stabilizer in the pool right now and 0 FC

  13. Back To Top    #13
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Stabilizer?

    You need to use PoolMath to calculate how much bleach you need to add to reach 10ppm. BUT, I am not sure you actually have the FAS-DPD chlorine test that is required to measure the FC and CC at these levels.

    You basically need to follow the SLAM Process (this is not what you think "shocking" is). But, with ammonia, you need to attack it first and then raise the CYA and complete the SLAM.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Broken Arrow, OK
    Posts
    10

    Re: Stabilizer?

    Went to Petsmart for a quick answer. Ammonia is 4PPM. High right?

  15. Back To Top    #15
    Mod Squad JVTrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Central Minnesota
    Posts
    5,079

    Re: Stabilizer?

    Yep. But not as bad as mine was!



    Time for a night time attack with bleach. You won't lose any FC to the sun that way but the ammonia will chew it up almost as soon as you add it. Plan on adding up to your SLAM level FC (10 for 0 CYA) in bleach and testing every 30 minutes. Mine took 5 hours of this and about 24 gallons of 12.5% bleach. How much you'll need depends on your ammonia level, pool volume and the ability to do it in the shortest period of time possible without adding too much at once which could damage equipment/liner.
    Joel - TFP Moderator - Minnesota - **Become a TFP Supporter!** Helpful Links: ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry - SLAM Procedure - Chlorine/CYA Chart
    40x20 Pool: 32K Gallons * Vinyl * Bleach Chlorination * Hayward S270T Sand Filter * Pentair SuperFlo 1 HP * Teledyne/Laars Heater * AquaVac Tigershark * TF-100 w/ SpeedStir
    Isolated Spa - 345 Gallons

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •