Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: CH : TG-100 vs retailer results

1. Back To Top    #1

CH : TG-100 vs retailer results

I am consistenly reading 450ppm CH with the TF-100 with 3 samples. Ran it to Leslies to get data logged for resurfacing warranty and they read 250ppm. I am new to the TF-100, but have been very religous about following directions and have read the expanded directions on the forum.

Could I be doing something wrong?
    Should I discount the reading from Leslies?

Thoughts?

TF-100 / Leslies
    FC 1 / 2
    pH 7.6 / 7.6
    TA 90 / 100
    CH 450 / 250
    CYA 40 / 60

They said my phosphates were high at 1500 but I already read about that scam oon here so I smiles and thanks him for the test.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: CH : TG-100 vs retailer results

Welcome to TFP!!!!

We ALWAYS discount the readings from pool stores ... they have repeatedly proven to not be accurate or repeatable.

Are you using a SpeedStir? Were they using a stirrer?
    Swirling is very important with the CH test and often with a stirrer, the reading is lower than if you try to do it by hand (not sure about a 200ppm difference though).
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

Time to break it out again....

If they show CH as lower than it is, great!!! When you come after them for scaling, they can't point the finger at you!
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.