Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Added 11 jugs Clorox Concentrate and FC still at 1.5 ppm

1. Back To Top    #1

Unhappy Added 11 jugs Clorox Concentrate and FC still at 1.5 ppm

I'm new to pooling and last year (when we moved in) I used the pucks and shock that the pool told us too. It didn't work well. This year I found the forum, bought a tf-100 and discovered my CYA is 180. I emptied 2/3 of the pool and now CYA is 80. Still high but I'll get it down over time.

We opened the pool a couple of weeks ago but I cannot get the FC up at all. At first I added 3 jugs to get up to the minimum 9ppm per the CYA/Cl chart. I didn't test it right after I added it but the next day's test showed 1-2 ppm (OTO and FAS/DPD). Another 4 jugs go in and the same thing.

Today I added 11 jugs of Clorox 8.5% from Costco then tested after 1.5 hours and my FC is still 1.5ppm! This is driving me up a wall and into the poorhouse. What's going on here?

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Added 11 jugs Clorox Concentrate and FC still at 1.5 ppm

Welcome to TFP!

More than likely you have some kind of contaminant using up chlorine rapidly. You should follow the SLAMing Your Pool process to get the chlorine consumption under control.
    TFP Moderator
    20K Gallon 20X36 Vinyl Inground
    Hayward S244T Sand Filter with 1HP Whisperflo Pump. Liquidator C-201 and Solar Heat

3. Back To Top    #3

Welcome!

What does the pool look like? Can you even see through the water? If there's a lot of debris in the bottom, it will use up all the chlorine before it can work on the algae.

Check out some threads of people who've done it
    First Time Shocking with Bleach
    Pretty black pool
    A little encouragement for those with algae and new to BBB
    Frog Filled Green Swamp to Oasis---Work in Progress!!!
    Before and After Pool Pics
    Before and after!
    A final picture set of how well the BBB method works!