Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Turqoise pool color and cloudiness problem

1. Back To Top    #1

Turqoise pool color and cloudiness problem

I have been shocking and backwashing my pool since saturday. Water was extremly green on saturday and now its at a turqoise but it is still very cloudy. fc level is at 10 and i raised alkalinity and ph levels as they were low as well. How can i resolve the cloudiness issue and do i need to throw in even more shock. I have a 35,000 inground pool. (previous homeowners left inside of pool not in great shape). Please advise

FYI Im new to tfp and this site is awesome thank you to EVERYONE as im learning so much and thank you to the guy in new jersey that i ran into at the pool store that turned me onto this site.

John

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Turqoise pool color and cloudiness problem

Welcome to TFP!!!

We recommend something called the SLAM Process which is different than what most people think of when they say "shocking". You need to realize that the required FC level is a function of your stabilizer (CYA) level as shown in the FC/CYA Chart.

So, we will need to see a full set of test results to provide recommendations. Unless your CYA is very low (which is doubtful if you are using tablets and dichlor powder shock), then a FC of 10ppm is no where near high enough. To accurately measure the high FC levels required, you need the FAS-DPD chlorine test which is part of the Recommended Test Kits.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

Welcome!