Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Questions for my pool

1. Back To Top    #1

Questions for my pool

I am new to owning a pool. We have an Intex 12x24 pool. It has been set up for 2 weeks. We are using a SWG. All of my test are fine except pH which was 8.2 and TA which was 330. I used the "pool calculator" to calculate how much muriatic acid was needed. It suggested 52 ounces. I added 32 ounces and retested. TA was still at 275 the following day. I'm needing it at 60-80 with a SWG. My water looks great! It's not cloudy at all like many things I've read with high pH and TA. I run my sand filter for 6 hours and SWG for 5. Any ideas or suggestions would be appreciated!

2. Back To Top    #2

In the Industry

Re: Questions for my pool

Welcome to the forum.

Lowering TA that high should be done by reading the article on how to lower TA up in Pool School. You will find it is a 2-step process of aeration and acid repeated over and over.

Adding acid alone is not the correct way to permanently lower TA.l
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

Welcome to TFP!! You will get lots of good advice here from some very knowledgeable folks. First thing to do is order one of the recommended test kits, a tf-100 is the best value or the taylor k-2006, both of which are at tftestkits.net then start reading pool school. There's a button at the top of every page.
    Pool size: 24000gal inground Vinyl-Taylor k-2006 and k-1766 test kits and-speed stir
    Intermatic P1353ME digital timer w/freeze sensor
    CircuPool Si-45 SWCG System
    Polaris 280 vacuum/Polaris PB4-60 boost pump
    Pentair IntelliFlo VS 3hp Pump--Pentair sand filter

4. Back To Top    #4

Welcome!

Here's how that works: Acid lowers pH and TA. Aeration raises pH without affecting TA. So you keep bouncing between high and low pH, within the comfort zone. And each cycle, the TA stays down.