Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Temperature Effect???

1. Back To Top    #1

Temperature Effect???

What effect does temperature have on all of this chemistry? Being new to the DIY BBB method and being an environmental engineer, I know that temperature has effects on all types of water chemistry, but I'm not well versed on pool chemistry.
    Pool Type/Size: Inground Vinyl ~24,000 gal ~ 18' x 36'
    Filter Type: Pentair FNS Plus 36 - DE Filter
    Pump: Pentair Challenger - 1.5 hp
    Heater: Pentair Mastertemp 250K BTU
    Accessories: Hayward AquaRite SWG Controller

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Temperature Effect???

Temperature has all kinds of effects, but very few of them are significant in outdoor pools. The main issues are that chlorine demand is higher at higher temperatures and pump run time needs to be longer at higher temperatures. Oh, and of course temperatures below freezing can be a problem if you haven't winterized properly
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

What is considered higher temps? My pool runs around 78-82 deg F. I'm assuming that the pool calc and other charts here are designed for at least a temp range between 75-85, maybe even greater?
    Pool Type/Size: Inground Vinyl ~24,000 gal ~ 18' x 36'
    Filter Type: Pentair FNS Plus 36 - DE Filter
    Pump: Pentair Challenger - 1.5 hp
    Heater: Pentair Mastertemp 250K BTU
    Accessories: Hayward AquaRite SWG Controller

4. Back To Top    #4