Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Shoddy Install work on new pump? (pic)

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Cary, IL
    Posts
    29

    Shoddy Install work on new pump? (pic)

    I'm no expert, and certainly a far cry from a licensed electrician, but take a look at this and let me know if this is bad workmanship or not.
    Installed here is a new Sta-Rite 4spd VS3050 pump and Easy Touch control system (electronic control system for Jandy valve to swim-out jets, heater, pool slide etc)
    Considering the cost of this new system (approx $2000 including labor), I wouldn't think that there would be loose wires all over the place.
    Shouldn't these wires be ran through conduit or some kind of protective tubing like the other stuff?
    Interested in feedback and opinions. Thanks!

    Bill Boehm
    Cary, IL
    40,000 Gal, 20x40 IG Liner with water slide and swim out. Auto-cover, Polaris 280, Pentair (Sta-Rite) VS-3050 pump with EasyTouch Control System and Laars LG250N Heater.

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Cary, IL
    Posts
    29

    Re: Shoddy Install work on new pump? (pic)

    Update:
    Like I said, I'm no electrician 8) and I believe I have probably mis-labeled those wires in my pic. I believe that the loose wires are low voltage control wires and not power lines so probably not a huge concern in terms of power running through the lines but nevertheless, still seems to me those wires should be protected in some way...
    Bill Boehm
    Cary, IL
    40,000 Gal, 20x40 IG Liner with water slide and swim out. Auto-cover, Polaris 280, Pentair (Sta-Rite) VS-3050 pump with EasyTouch Control System and Laars LG250N Heater.

  3. Back To Top    #3
    midtngal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    485

    Re: Shoddy Install work on new pump? (pic)

    Well, thanks a lot Bill! I also have all these wires hanging around. I didn't think anything about it and thought it was *supposed* to be that way until you bring this up. I don't know a thing either and will be watching the answers from the experts. If I were a bettin' woman, I'd vote shoddy install (at least on my end anyway).

    Karen
    10,700 gal IG vinyl
    Pentair Triton II TR50 sand filter
    Hayward SharkVac XL cleaner; Emerson 1HP pump
    Bioguard Mineral Springs SWG
    2 skimmers

  4. Back To Top    #4
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Shoddy Install work on new pump? (pic)

    A good installer would use cable ties on all of the low voltage cables so they ran neatly and couldn't be pulled out by accident. There is no need to use conduit for low voltage wires.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    444

    Re: Shoddy Install work on new pump? (pic)

    Well I will give you my opinion, 24 volt and below do not have to be in conduit (flex etc.). Now having said that, I have not and would not leave wire open like that. It is just the way I do things but I like all my work to look professional. And to me this kind of work does not look that way. A lot of people now days are looking for the fastest and cheapest way to do things, so they can make an extra buck.
    27' Round AG, 17,200 gallons, sand filter

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Cary, IL
    Posts
    29

    Re: Shoddy Install work on new pump? (pic)

    Thanks all... Especially the confirmation that these are low-voltage wires and do not "need" to be protected per se. I will, however, spend some time on my own to clean this up a bit with some ties so that it looks a little more professional.

    Now, I just need to try to figure out this "Easy"Control system!!!! I just read another post on here about a nightmare that someone else was having trying to figure out how to program this thing. Interestingly, my PB had no idea. The installer was laughing as he was reading the manual as it is SO POORLY written. I'm hoping that maybe the local Pentair rep will use my install as an opportunity to train all this PB's technicians so that it gets programmed properly
    Bill Boehm
    Cary, IL
    40,000 Gal, 20x40 IG Liner with water slide and swim out. Auto-cover, Polaris 280, Pentair (Sta-Rite) VS-3050 pump with EasyTouch Control System and Laars LG250N Heater.

  7. Back To Top    #7
    whoozer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Acton Maine
    Posts
    633

    Re: Shoddy Install work on new pump? (pic)

    Mine looked the same after install...wires...wires everywhere. I tied them all up so as not to be chewed on by micey.
    I too am freeking out about my Easytouch programming. The manual is a nightmare!!!!! Once I get one thing working another doesn't it's like the christmas lights all over again Good luck with yours I think I need to go buy myself one of those Margarita machines before I try to tackle it again
    14x33 fiberglass freeform
    Variable speed Pentair intelliflo superpump
    420 Clean and Clear Plus cartridge filter.
    pool-school/pool_calculator , http://www.tftestkits.net/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •