Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: New to Pool

1. Back To Top    #1

New to Pool

My wife and I purchased our home in December and with it came a pool. We have no idea when it was last open but best guess is summer of 2012. I opened it up on May 5th and found a pool resembling a small pond minus the fish info in Sig line. I have some past experience with an above ground pool. I started with an intal basic kit test that revealed low pH and no Chlorine. I first attempted to vacuum the pool to waste and was somewhat successful until I lost site of the bottom from stirring up algae. I continued to vacuum the big stuff out dropping the water level 3 inches down from the top of the skimmer.

Fast foward to today. I have ordered a TF100 test kit waiting for it to arrive. After several trips to the Local Pool store I have the following readings. I will be able to update later today with more.

May 9th
    FC 5
    pH 7.4
    CYA 75

The pool is almost completely clear, I'm not sure if its a little cloudy in the deep end or if its my eyes. I can see the bottom and when the dolphin is running around I can see it. My current concern is the CYA reading. 75 is high, I use TriChlor tablets in a feeder. I am considering draining some water but I have an unknown age well pump and my well water is loaded with Iron, it will rust in a glass left on the counter. I do have a 3/4"hose line that runs through a water softener.

Thoughts?
    20500 gallon Grecian type 2 pool built in 1980's, Vinyl liner approx 2001
    2 Skimmers, 1 Dedicated Vac Line and 3 returns
    PureLine Prime PL2601 Pump - Hayward in line Chlorinator
    Triton TR-60 Sand filter
    Dolphin M3 robot, TF-100 with XL option & Speed Stir

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: New to Pool

Welcome to TFP!!!