Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: New to pool

1. Back To Top    #1

New to pool

I bought a new house and with it a pool. I'm new to a pool, though I am used to maintaining my hot tub. The pool was closed when we bought it and didn't have a cover. With 2 mature trees next to it and a huge (80 ft) tree that dumps about 60% of its leaves and now spring debris into the pool, I'll be buying a cover this fall. In the mean time I have removed all the debris I can, filled it, and ran the pump can cleaned out the pump basket until it remained clean between checks (about 20 mins run time). I scrubbed the pool down with a brush and now have split pea soup. I haven't added anything yet but did test it (TF-100) and unsurprisingly found zero CYA, which leads me to my question. Do I need to raise this completely before I even bother adding bleach or can I start adding both at the same time? Also my PH is 8.2 (TA 150), should I adjust this after I get clear or before I start?
    20,000, Inground, Vinyl, Hayward 24in sand filter, Hayward super pump, Hayward heater 250,000

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: New to pool

First things first lower the pH to 7.2 with muratic acid and add enough stabilizer to get you to around 30 ppm and go read pool school the article on slamming your pool.......ABC of water chemistry........Mike

- - - Updated - - -

Once you complete the above post.....SLAM AWAY.....and remember we love pics......lol
    18x52 intex ultra frame pool 6981 gallons, 1 HP LL pump with 19 in sand filter,BBB method,borax 50ppm
    leslies DPD test kit + fas-dpd chlorine test kit + borates test strips
    thru wall skimmer,hard plumbed with 2 returns 1 1/2 sch 40 pvc
    1 large fountain 1 inch sch 40 pvc,shut off ball valves on all

3. Back To Top    #3