Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: How to hard wire my new pump?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Southern Ontario
    Posts
    10

    How to hard wire my new pump?

    Hi folks..

    I am in the process of trying to wire up my new 3/4HP Whisperflo pool pump.. I have the pump inside an unfinished ( meaning no panelling or insulation- it has a roof and door/ window intact) pool house with studs visible on all sides which I will call north, south, east, west for ease of clarity..it measures 4' x 9' and is 7' tall.. In the centre of the north wall is hydro which comes up through the floor by plastic conduit, into a receptacle box. My 25 yr old duraglas pump used to have to be manually plugged/unplugged (big pain) and likely not correct for my IG pool.. Not sure... Anyways I know "how" to run the wiring but not sure of the style I should use.. The pump sits unsecured on the concrete floor.. I have a metal junction box on the west wall, 16" off the floor and about 2-3 feet away from the pump.. I don't think it is a good idea to just run a 14/2 cable from the junction box into my pump ( if the pump was accidentally kicked-I could rip live wires out of it) .. So I know I need to secure it and have an idea how I will do it.. Once secured though... Should I run BX CABLE from the metal junction box into the pump? I'd think it would rust with the chemical exposure over time.. But then it seems an odd setup to run plastic conduit from the metal junction box to the pump.. Kind of an inside-outside setup if you understand what I mean (from a wiring standpoint...physically it is completely indoors) .. Any ideas or pictures of a good way to do this??

    Thanks everyone- great group of people on here, been a big help so far .. Looking forward to some good ideas..

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: How to hard wire my new pump?

    Use the flex plastic conduit from the box to the pump. Same thing that would be used outside.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    188

    Re: How to hard wire my new pump?

    First thing I'd do is secure the pump to the concrete floor. A couple RedHeads will do nicely.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: How to hard wire my new pump?

    Quote Originally Posted by Hawk View Post
    First thing I'd do is secure the pump to the concrete floor. A couple RedHeads will do nicely.
    That is generally not necessary.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    188

    Re: How to hard wire my new pump?

    Quote Originally Posted by jblizzle View Post
    That is generally not necessary.
    He's the one that mentioned it was "unsecured on the floor" and is concerned if accidentally kicked it would rip the wires out.
    Seems to me that would generally solve both his concerns.
    Last edited by Hawk; 05-09-2014 at 09:22 AM. Reason: to add stupidity...

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Re: How to hard wire my new pump?

    I was going to secure my pumps to the pad also, but the plumbing keeps them in place. And when I remove the unions, I can slide the pumps around easily for service.

    Use a piece of liquid tight flex conduit. You can run individual conductors in the conduit. No need to buy hundreds of feet of single conductor wire for this... either find a piece of romex and strip off the cover and use the THHN wires in your conduit or buy what you need cut to size at big box store. They also sell the connector for each end that will mount on the pump and at the box. Leave enough slack in the conduit to be able to move the pump if you need to for service. 1/2"' conduit and 12 gauge conductors are fine for a 20A circuit. I believe that pump can be wired for 120 or 240? Make sure the pump setting matches what you are providing it.
    32K gal, gunite, French Gray DB, IntelliFlo VF, IntelliFlo, WhisperFlo, Quad DE 100 filter, IntelliTouch, IC-60 SWG, IntelliChem, Dolphin M5

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: How to hard wire my new pump?

    Quote Originally Posted by Hawk View Post
    He's the one that mentioned it was "unsecured on the floor" and is concerned if accidentally kicked it would rip the wires out.
    Seems to me that would generally solve both his concerns.
    I think you would break your toes before you actually moved the heavy pump with an accidental kick ... even if the plumbing was not holding it in place.

    I just don't think it matters either way ... could affect the sound ... and as jtech points out, might be easier to work on without the bolts.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Southern Ontario
    Posts
    10

    Re: How to hard wire my new pump?

    Thank you for your advice

    - - - Updated - - -

    The more I think about the below explanations, having it readily movable for disconnect would be preferable.. Thanks I was close to buying some..

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Southern Ontario
    Posts
    10

    Re: How to hard wire my new pump?

    Thank you J-tech!

  10. Back To Top    #10

    TFP Guide

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    western NY
    Posts
    1,557

    Re: How to hard wire my new pump?

    Quote Originally Posted by jtech1 View Post
    ... either find a piece of romex and strip off the cover and use the THHN wires in your conduit
    While this will work and it has bee done hundreds of times in the past, it is not code compliant. All wire must have its ratings stamped or marked on it. Wires inside a romex sleeve do not have such markings. I don't have my code book with me today but, it states that all devices and components must be of a listed nature. Romex is a listed component as it has the markings on the sheath. The individual wires in the cable are not marked for individual use.

  11. Back To Top    #11
    Isaac-1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    SW Louisiana
    Posts
    6,711

    Re: How to hard wire my new pump?

    For wiring the whip, around here at least Lowes and I think Home Depot sells prewired flex whips of the plastic (I think liquitite) variety in a couple of different gauges in I think 6 ft lengths.
    Indoor 20x40 35,000 gallon vinyl pool with 1.5 HP 2 speed Jandy FloPro pump, Hayward EC75 Perflex DE filter, 11 4x12 Techno-Solis solar panels w/ Aquasolar controller, Aquabot Turbo T Robot Cleaner. Also LMI metering chlorine dispenser pump and HotSpring Jetsetter
    I use and endorse TFtestKits TF-100 from http://tftestkits.net
    ~Remember TFP counts on your donations to keep this site ad free~

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •