Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Chlorine level dropping fast

1. Back To Top    #1

Chlorine level dropping fast

I am new to pool ownership and still trying to figure things out. I have what's suppose to be a salt water pool, but having issues with my cell. For now I've been adding liquid chlorine to keep things going. What I am noticing is that my clorine level drops very quickly. It goes from 3.5 level to 0 in about two days. The water seems clear, I don't see any green algae. What am I doing wrong?

pH - 7.5
    FC - 3.5 (after adding 121oz of 8.25% bleach)
    CC - 0
    AL - 70
    CH - 250
    CYA - 70
    Salt - 3200

Thank you for your help.
    27K gal, IG pebble, Jandy JEP2.0 VS ePump, Jandy DEV60 filter, Jandy SW with ChemLink C1900, Zodiak MX8 vacuum
    The pool was repiped and new equipment installed Nov 2013.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Chlorine level dropping fast

1.75 FC per day is actually fairly low consumption. I see nothing wrong. Treat your pool like a pet and feed it every day.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

3. Back To Top    #3

What is your water temp? I've read that SWG's don't work well with cold water.
    12000 Gallon IG Plaster built 2/15/2014. Jandy 340 sg ft 127 gpm filter, Jandy 1 HP stealth pump. Circupool RJ-45 SWG (overkill). TF-100 with Speed Stir.

4. Back To Top    #4

Is the SWG running or not? If not, then dropping from 3.5 to 0 could be reasonable, although with the high CYA I would not think it would drop quite that much.