Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 104

Thread: How long do I need to use POP ?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    N. Ga Mountains
    Posts
    151

    How long do I need to use POP ?

    Its been a while since I have been on here and the last was all about all my frozen, broken plumbing. That is all fixed, and pool is open and running. Have a new pump, Hayward 1.5 hp and all new plumbing. Added brand new liner last year.

    However opened to dark green pool last Friday. Using Taylor test Kit 100 my CYA is now at 45-50, PH is at 7.6, TA is 50, FC is at 24 as I have been doing the slamming process for the last 6 days. I have scooped about 20 leaf nets of leaves from the pool and am now just getting a few leaves in the net when I drag the net around the bottom.

    I have been keeping thee FC at no less than 20. I am using the Pool Math calculator and am now on my 22nd 181 oz bottle of bleach. Pool is still a fairly dark green. Cannot see the bottom. However I can barely make out the 4th step on the stairs.. In the beginning I could only see the 2nd step (barely). I am adding 2 cups of DE to my sand filter and backwashing when the pressure hits around 19 or 20, Normal is 14 lbs.

    So...what else can I do? I cant get a new sand filter and really am wondering if there is something wrong with the filter or do I just need more POP? Today is the 6th day.

    Also, the bleach has turned my vacuum, net pole from a bright blue to a very light blue where it goes in the water...is it doing that to my new liner also? Getting concerned and running low on POP...help please!!


    - - - Updated - - -

    oh...I am not running the SWG and need to add 312 lbs of salt before I do..Can I add that now or do I wait until the pool is clear? Thanks again for listening and helping us all!
    33 ft round x 52", vinyl
    Hayward 1.5 hp pump
    sta-rite 2.18ft ,200 lb sand filter
    24500 gal.
    Hayward Salt & Swim3

  2. Back To Top    #2

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,084

    Re: How long do I need to use POP ?

    So...what else can I do?
    The candid answer is, "Nothing".

    You have started the SLAM process very well and you simply have to stick with it until completion. You could open your sand filter and clean the surface of the sand bed and inspect and clean the sand but there is no need to buy new sand or certainly not a new filter.....yours is doing exactly what filters are supposed to do.

    Bleaching the poles is the first report I've seen on TFP for the last seven years. I would suggest the pole is the issue.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    N. Ga Mountains
    Posts
    151

    Re: How long do I need to use POP ?

    So do I add the salt now or do I wait until the pool is clear? I have added a few pics so you can see the nice sparkly, green pool! LOL..OK..no pics, it says the file is to large...I will work on that one...
    33 ft round x 52", vinyl
    Hayward 1.5 hp pump
    sta-rite 2.18ft ,200 lb sand filter
    24500 gal.
    Hayward Salt & Swim3

  4. Back To Top    #4

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,084

    Re: How long do I need to use POP ?

    So do I add the salt now or do I wait until the pool is clear?
    Either way. I would personally wait so I could focus on clearing the pool exclusively but there is no harm if you do it now.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Casey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    SW PA
    Posts
    10,157

    Re: How long do I need to use POP ?

    The only thing I will add to Dave's advice to you is to BRUSH your pool daily until you're clear. It will help dislodge any gunk from the sides and get it into suspension so your filter can grab it and it will open any biofilms on the algae to help kill it!
    I'd bet you my bikini you'll never get TFP water from a pool store!

    24' Sharkline Venture De Filter

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Richard320's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)
    Posts
    18,768

    Re: How long do I need to use POP ?

    As long as it takes. It didn't load up with crud and turn green and murky in a mere six days.

    If it's any consolation, think of the CYA test tube. The graduations aren't equally spaced. from 50 to 100 is the same distance as 20 to 30. Both your murky pool and the CYA test deal with cloudiness, right? So you're making progress, it's just not especially visible yet.

    I'd wait to add salt since you're still backwashing frequently. Why add salt just to pump it out the waste pipe?
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    N. Ga Mountains
    Posts
    151

    Re: How long do I need to use POP ?

    good point about pumping out the salt thru waste...ok... i will try to keep up with patience. I am just very anxious. I am actually one of those people who use my pool every day and love it. Should I be vacuuming to waste every day at this point or do I wait until I can see the bottom?
    33 ft round x 52", vinyl
    Hayward 1.5 hp pump
    sta-rite 2.18ft ,200 lb sand filter
    24500 gal.
    Hayward Salt & Swim3

  8. Back To Top    #8

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,084

    Re: How long do I need to use POP ?

    Richard320 makes a good point about the backwash and losing some of your salt. I would follow his advice and not mine!
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  9. Back To Top    #9
    Richard320's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)
    Posts
    18,768

    Re: How long do I need to use POP ?

    I wouldn't vacuum to waste unless you're still getting huge amounts of stuff up. If the filter clogs up after ten minutes of vacuuming, that's a sign that you still have lots of stuff. But if it rises a little bit and you can keep filtering another few hours after vacuuming before you need to backwash, just let the filter do its job.

    Hey, all that brushing tightens and tones your upper arms, huh? Other women pay big money to go to a gym to do it!
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

  10. Back To Top    #10
    Beens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Virginia Beach, Va
    Posts
    1,171

    Re: How long do I need to use POP ?

    Photobucket works great for posting pics here.

    I want to see them. lol

    I'd lend you some of my POP but after my stupid leaking hose connector problem I'm about out of POP myself.
    18' x 48" (42" water depth) Intex Metal Frame 6,700 Gallons
    Hayward Power-Flo LX 1.0 HP pump
    Hayward Pro Series S166T Sand Filter
    Original Intex Floating Skimmer

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    N. Ga Mountains
    Posts
    151

    Re: How long do I need to use POP ?

    Ok. It is day 11 and I now have my chlorine at 30. Pool is still green. For the last 10 days it has never been below 20. I have been reading all of these posts and it seems like I should at least be getting to an aqua color. I have brushed and vacuumed every day. Actually only vacuumed daily for the lst 4 days. Backwash after every vacuum and I can see the 4 th step but the bottom is nowhere in sight. Only picking up an occasional leaf on the bottom. I am also adding de (2 cups) to the filter and in the evening backwashing again and adding de for the night. I am really feeling like my pool is just not responding at all. Then I read post with a bigger pool and they went from green to blue in 5 days even if it's cloudy. I am afraid to raise the chlorine any higher. I am only losing 2 to 3 on the chlorine overnight and usually pool math is telling me to add 96 oz of bleach in the AM to bring it back to 20. Yesterday I decided what the heck I'll add 2 of the 181 oz bottles. It bought the chlorine to 30. Pool still green and I am on my 2 nod bottle of 871 for testing. I double checked cya and it is at 40. Please tell me how to at least get to aqua and cloudy from ugly green. I am on my way to walmart to get 15 more bottles of bleach I have gone thru 40. Thanks in advance for your help
    33 ft round x 52", vinyl
    Hayward 1.5 hp pump
    sta-rite 2.18ft ,200 lb sand filter
    24500 gal.
    Hayward Salt & Swim3

  12. Back To Top    #12
    Charlie_R's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Mexico, MO
    Posts
    2,156

    Re: How long do I need to use POP ?

    You mention the "taylor 100". Do you mean the TF-100 from TFtestkits?
    15'x48" 4500 gallon Intex pool, buried 1.5 ft. Pac-Fab Dynamo 3/4 hp pump. Hayward S180T sand filter, bought used. Taylor K-2006 test kit. Rocket mass heater based wood fired pool heater.

  13. Back To Top    #13
    pwrstrk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Elverson Pa.
    Posts
    4,758

    How long do I need to use POP ?

    One thing I want to point out is your FC level of 30 is too high for a CYA level of 40. Your wasting bleach at that level. SLAM level for 40 is 16 and 20 is the highest I would go with FC.
    Your are running pump 24/7 correct ?
    Jeff
    24'x54" AG Morada RTR (by wilbar) 13'500 gal. Hayward Powerflo Matrix 1hp 2 speed. Hayward Perflex EC65 DE filter.

  14. Back To Top    #14
    Butterfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    10,045

    Re: How long do I need to use POP ?

    Did you open the filter and clean it?

    Here's a link for a deep cleaning: http://www.troublefreepool.com/threa...-a-Sand-Filter
    TFP Moderator TF100 Test Kit TF100 TestKit YouTube Channel PoolMath
    You're done SLAMing when:
    1)You lose 1ppm or less FC overnight, & 2)You have .5ppm CC's or less, & 3)your water is clear.

    ~ One should not use a sledge hammer to swat a mosquito. ~

    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  15. Back To Top    #15
    Mod Squad zea3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    9,200

    Re: How long do I need to use POP ?

    Pull the ladder out of the pool if it is still in there. Ladders have lots of nooks and crannies where algae can hide, and they are easier to clean out of the pool.
    TFP Moderator
    Helpful links: TF Test Kits,TFP Pool School, PoolMath
    Vogue 21' round AG, Pentair 1 hp 2 speed pump, 36 sq ft DE filter, Hayward S180T 150# sand filter, Houston, Texas
    Love TFP? Become a
    TFP Supporter!

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    N. Ga Mountains
    Posts
    151

    Re: How long do I need to use POP ?

    Yes we cleaned the filter sand. I did not add any bleach today as the FC level is at 26 since last night. On the stairs, they are wedding cake with 2 sand bags that I am sure are green. Do I need to get in and try to lift them out? Also the stairs? Thanks again for all your quick responses. I'm getting very discouraged but hangin in there. It's way too expensive to drain and refill and we just put in a new liner and pump last season so the water is fairly new so to speak. Also right now I need 312 lbs of salt once it's up and running. If I drained I'd need a whole lot more of that too. So do I need to get in the green swamp and try to pull out sand bags and stairs? I guess at the end of this season I'll pull all of that out.
    33 ft round x 52", vinyl
    Hayward 1.5 hp pump
    sta-rite 2.18ft ,200 lb sand filter
    24500 gal.
    Hayward Salt & Swim3

  17. Back To Top    #17
    Richard320's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)
    Posts
    18,768

    Re: How long do I need to use POP ?

    Quote Originally Posted by CindyG1 View Post
    Yes we cleaned the filter sand. I did not add any bleach today as the FC level is at 26 since last night. On the stairs, they are wedding cake with 2 sand bags that I am sure are green. Do I need to get in and try to lift them out? Also the stairs? Thanks again for all your quick responses. I'm getting very discouraged but hangin in there. It's way too expensive to drain and refill and we just put in a new liner and pump last season so the water is fairly new so to speak. Also right now I need 312 lbs of salt once it's up and running. If I drained I'd need a whole lot more of that too. So do I need to get in the green swamp and try to pull out sand bags and stairs? I guess at the end of this season I'll pull all of that out.
    Oh, yeah! Steps are a breeding ground for algae. You'll probably find a gooey chunky mess inside.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

  18. Back To Top    #18
    Casey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    SW PA
    Posts
    10,157

    Re: How long do I need to use POP ?

    What is your fill source for water? Well? Municipal?
    I'd bet you my bikini you'll never get TFP water from a pool store!

    24' Sharkline Venture De Filter

  19. Back To Top    #19

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    N. Ga Mountains
    Posts
    151

    Re: How long do I need to use POP ?

    Municipal water. It is really holding the chlorine level pretty well and I'm only getting like .5 to 1 on cc,s. I'm getting the stairs and sandbags out today while I have my daughter in law here to help me. I think they might be kinda heavy for me by myself. Once I get them to the top of the water I still have to get them out of the pool. I am 5 ' 3" and not overly hefty. My daughter in law however is 5' 8" and a big girl. She works construction so well get it done. Hubby has a very bad heart so no help there. He did just go get us mcdonalds though so he's pretty awesome! I'll let you know how it goes once all that mess is out of the pool. ...if I don't freeze while I'm in there. Lol
    33 ft round x 52", vinyl
    Hayward 1.5 hp pump
    sta-rite 2.18ft ,200 lb sand filter
    24500 gal.
    Hayward Salt & Swim3

  20. Back To Top    #20
    Richard320's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)
    Posts
    18,768

    Re: How long do I need to use POP ?

    Quote Originally Posted by CindyG1 View Post
    Municipal water. It is really holding the chlorine level pretty well and I'm only getting like .5 to 1 on cc,s. I'm getting the stairs and sandbags out today while I have my daughter in law here to help me. I think they might be kinda heavy for me by myself. Once I get them to the top of the water I still have to get them out of the pool. I am 5 ' 3" and not overly hefty. My daughter in law however is 5' 8" and a big girl. She works construction so well get it done. Hubby has a very bad heart so no help there. He did just go get us mcdonalds though so he's pretty awesome! I'll let you know how it goes once all that mess is out of the pool. ...if I don't freeze while I'm in there. Lol
    If it's a gross, slimy mess, post pictures! You can add to the body of knowledge here that way... a picture is worth a thousand words and all that.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •