Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Digital instruments

1. Back To Top    #1

Digital instruments

I own a reef tank and I use these kind of tool to take measurement of the water: Hanna Instruments. I have been using them for 3 months now and they work great. No color guessing.
    My question is are they any good to be used in a pool also? I know a lot of you guys will say "go with TF-100 kit" because you want to promote it. But I already have one and I love it, but the color guessing sometimes give me a headache .
    Anyone been using this instruments? Or any other similar one?
    Here is the link to pool&spas: Hanna Pool & Spa Meters
    Here is more advanced unit: Hanna Multiparameter For Pools . It cost over $500 but if it works good then I'm willing to spend that kind of money
    30'x54" Quest Above Ground Round Pool , About 21,000 Gallons , Hayward Perflex EC50 D.E. Filter System 1.5HP Power-Flo Pump , TF-100 Test Kit , Two Hayward Main Drains on the Bottom , Hayward CL200 In-Line Above-Ground Chlorinator.
    77"x77"x21.5" Hot Tub

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Digital instruments

Do these have a way to be recalibrated if you have to replace the probes?

The only color matching in the TF-100 that you would be using on a daily basis is the pH test. all others are color change, from colored to clear or one color to another. Exception -- OTO FC test, but (in my case) not used very often.

The ONLY reason I personally advise the TF-100 is it is the best kit available for the home owned pool, bar none. Not because I want to "promote" a certain product.
    15'x48" 4500 gallon Intex pool, buried 1.5 ft. Pac-Fab Dynamo 3/4 hp pump. Hayward S180T sand filter, bought used. Taylor K-2006 test kit. Rocket mass heater based wood fired pool heater.

3. Back To Top    #3