Looking for some help....waving the white flag in regards to Cl

May 6, 2014
redding, ca
Hello everyone.

I’m pretty new to this pool stuff, bought a house in November with a 13600 gal fiberglass pool. It is setup with a Pentair pump and filter system. Throughout the winter the pool was easy to maintain. Kept my eye on Cl and Ph and augmented as necessary. With the weather warming up I’m having some issues an am very frustrated, looking for some help.

Last week I noticed that I could not maintain chlorine in the pool. The previous owners and myself had been using the trichlor tablets, and augmenting with liquid chlorine as needed. Weather just starting to warm up here, and no matter what I did I could not hold chlorine. No evidence of algae at all, pool crystal clear. I finally broke down and went to the pool store to get a water test. 0 FC and TC, CH @ 150, CYA @ 50, TA @ 80, PH @ 7.4, 0 copper/Iron.

Pool store # 1 said I should add 15lbs of CH, and add 2 lbs of 73% Ca Hypo to shock the pool. Over the next 2 days I did as instructed. But chlorine continues to disappear rapidly. In addition, my water is somewhat cloudy, and the first couple days some brown dusty looking particles would be present in the bottom of the pool. I would manually vacuum these up (sometimes twice a day) and then proceed to manually clean the filters as so particles wouldn’t get washed back into the pool. I called the pool store and they said sometimes the cloudiness/particles are normal when adding CH and Ca Hypo and to continue to vaccum. The cloudiness is slowly improving, but the ability to hold chlorine is not. The shock pretty much burned up in 24hrs or less.