Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: CYA loss

1. Back To Top    #1

CYA loss

Hello. I have been using the BBB method for several years now. My question is regarding CYA levels. It seems that since I have been using the BBB method, every summer, I am having to add CYA. Curious why/how I would be losing CYA? It is a 16,000 gallon plaster pool in California. We've had below normal levels of rain this past year. The pool does have an auto fill on it, so I don't know how much is lost to evaporation. Last year when I added CYA, the level was about 20-30. My understanding is that once you have CYA, you shouldn't lose it, without draining water?? Is that right?

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: CYA loss

There's other ways to lose water besides draining: spash out from kids having fun, or maybe a cleaner spitting out water 50 or more times a day (like mine). Back washing is the same as draining. Evaporation doesn't count since it leaves the cya in the remaining water. There are other reasons too, but I'm not too familiar with them. I'm sure some expert will fill in my gaps for you.
    Pool size: 24000gal inground Vinyl-Taylor k-2006 and k-1766 test kits and-speed stir
    Intermatic P1353ME digital timer w/freeze sensor
    CircuPool Si-45 SWCG System
    Polaris 280 vacuum/Polaris PB4-60 boost pump
    Pentair IntelliFlo VS 3hp Pump--Pentair sand filter

3. Back To Top    #3

Thank you for your thoughts. I can rule out any water loss from anybody using the pool. Unfortunately it is just a pretty water hole that I dump money into, never gets used anymore. And I have put on the new Polaris tail sweep that prevents the water from spraying out. I don't have an issue with adding more CYA, just want to make sure I'm doing the right thing......

4. Back To Top    #4

Hmmmm gonna have to get one of them-- have a link by chance?
    Pool size: 24000gal inground Vinyl-Taylor k-2006 and k-1766 test kits and-speed stir

5. Back To Top    #5