Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: I think I have a problem but I don't know where to start. I'm a Noob!

1. Back To Top    #1

I think I have a problem but I don't know where to start. I'm a Noob!

HI everyone, I'm going on my 2nd year as a pool owner. Year one had it's challenges but this site was a great help in getting me through it.

It's an in-ground concrete pool, about 18,000 gallons.

Year 1, I covered the pool with a blue tarp. There was some water loss when I took the cover off. I assumed it was due to evaporation and possibly a hole in the cover. Water poured through the hole and on to the cover which I eventually had to pump out.

We had a terrible winter in the northeast and now I'm in the process of pumping the pool water off the blue tarp again. I'm assuming another hole occurred in the new cover. But this time my pool is just about empty. I lost a lot of water. But the cover also had a ton of water on it.

So once again, I think most of the pool water made its way on to the cover and now I'm pumping it out.

I can stand in the shallow end of my pool and noticed the following- please see the pics.

I'm assuming I'm in for a lot of headache and heartache?

What are your thoughts?

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/r7lwgvfgy7eq486/J4IZZ2ozxU

The link should take you to the pics. Let me know if it there is any trouble opening it.

Thank you all.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    22k gallons
    sand filter- hayward pro series
    plaster
    1st time pool/home owner

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: I think I have a problem but I don't know where to start. I'm a Noob!

That doesn't look very good, especially the step. Still, it is something you can live with if you have to. The correct solution is to re-plaster the pool. But if you can't afford that right now, you can clear out the loose bits and continue using the pool for some while (a year or two probably).