Questions before booster pump install

May 2, 2014
SoCal
Greetings all,

I'm new here and I'm unsure which way the booster pump flows. I'll be installing a booster pump for a vacuum line this weekend. It's a Hayward 3/4 hp 6060. I have existing one inch pvc lines but they were cut and capped before I moved in the house. I've been using the Hayward skimmer vacuum for a couple of years, but now I want to be able to use both.

On the pump... is the side hole... the inlet or is it the top? There's nothing in the specs for me to verify the flow direction. I really don't want to assume anything before I cut and glue the pvc lines to the unions. All to find out that, the water is pushing water instead of suctioning.

Also, do I need to run the filter pump when I running the booster pump?

Thank you,

Sounds like you are trying to use a 1" line for a suction cleaner? First, that may not allow enough flow for the cleaner. Second, you don't use booster pumps with suction side cleaners, the booster is used for certain pressure side cleaners.

I'm confused because the pool use to have a booster pump setup for a vacuum cleaner. The lines were capped. Unfortunately, I don't know what was previously installed. I know the the old booster pump is a 3/4 hp. The inlet on the pool wall fits a vacuum pool hose.

pump.jpg

Here's a picture of my current setup. The filter and pump on the left are a couple of years old. And the pump on the right (3/4 booster) was disconnected because it was shorting out. The only thing I remember about the old filter and pump was that they were beige. I think it might have been Pentair. And there was no heater or solar attached to this system at all. Can you help me decipher it? Could the old booster pump might have been a pressure type? If so, what would you recommend?

I guess that's what I get for listening to a guy at Leslie's pool, who couldn't figure out my old system. Live and learn, but I want to make it right.