Trouble clearing pool

Jan 27, 2014
Hello I'm fairly new to TFP. I appreciate all of the helpful people here. My pool is now 3 years old and I'm switching to the BBB method this year after my CYA got out of control last year. This year I started with little CYA. I started the slamming process 5 days ago and the pool has turned from green to a blue color, but I still cant see the bottom of the deep end. My numbers are confusing me so I thought I would get some feedback. Can that CC # be correct? I'm using the Taylor k-2006 kit.photo 2.jpg

PH 7.2
FC 30
CC 30
TA 420
CYA <20

:wave: Welcome to TFP!!!

That CC is theoretically possible, but highly unlikely. Can you describe how you did the FAS-DPD chlorine test?

Also, why did you raise the FC up do high? That is not good for your liner. If your CYA is under 20ppm, then your SLAM level for FC is only 10ppm: See the FC/CYA Chart.

Your TA also seems abnormally high, how new is the test kit? Did the drops for the TA test seem smaller than the other tests?

For the chlorine test I followed the instructions on the box. I filled the container to 10mL sample and then added the 2 dippers of r-0870. It turned pink and then I added 60 drops of r-0871 until the it became colorless. I understand the free chlorine is too high for my CYA now. I got my test kit toward the end of last summer (maybe August). The TA was verified by the pool store as well.

Does not sound like you finished the FAS-DPD test. Did you then add 5 drops of the R-0003 and then count drops to clear the water again with R-0871? That is how you get the CC.