Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: timer/swg/pump question

1. Back To Top    #1

timer/swg/pump question

ok here is what i am planning but I am new to the timer/swg stuff. I have a pool with a 2 speed pump. plan to run the low speed through the timer and have a switch to kick it up to high speed for times i use the pool cleaner/vacuum etc wired separately. how does this all work with the swg? can i always run the swg only at low speed or will there be times it will need to be run on high? if so I guess I could wire a 3 position switch between the timer and the pump and toggle between high and low? hope I am making sense here. not good at writing this out, probably need to figure out a way to draw it. any help is appreciated.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: timer/swg/pump question

Most SWGs on most pools will work on low speed, but you can't be completely certain it will work until you try it.

Your plan sounds like exactly what I would recommend, go for it.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

I run normal filtration/swg at about 1100 RPMs. Would be fine lower, but that's what keeps the heater from low flow error. I ramp it up to 3000 to run the cleaner.
    14.5K gal Plaster IGP, Intelliflo VS, EasyTouch 8, SWG, IntellipH, Clear and Clean 420 Cartridge Filter, Attached Spa, H400IDL2 NG Heater

4. Back To Top    #4

ok here is where i am stuck i have the following pump
    Jandy FHPM1.0-2 FloPro Medium Head 1HP Up-Rated Dual Speed Pool Pump, 230V
    i want to put a dpdt switch to go from high to low. i have not been able to find one anywhere. do you know where there might be one? maybe grainger? also not sure what amperage I will need for the switch.

5. Back To Top    #5