Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Jandy LXi Heater: Fault High Limit error

1. Back To Top    #1

Jandy LXi Heater: Fault High Limit error

Hello everyone, I am fairly new to pool care (had for just over a year). This week when trying our Lxi heater out (it is about a year old) I got a fault message of "High Limit" and the burners did not fire.

I have done some research and believe I know where the limit switch is located, how to test it, and how to replace. However I wanted to confirm with everyone before doing so.

As for the location I can see where the high limit runs behind the PIB to the outside of the heater, just want to confirm these are the only 2 I need to replace. I ordered a replacement R0023000 150deg high limit switch and a R0457200 130deg high limit switch to replace the 2 in the picture below.

IMG_2303.jpg

I pull the the limit switch out today and it was fairly corroded. I tried to clean it and put back but it is still throwing the error. I can hear water running through the pipes, so I assume it isn't a flow issue.

Anything else I should check or do? The plan right now is to just replace the 2 high limit switches and see if it fires up.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Jandy LXi Heater: Fault High Limit error

Welcome to TFP!

I would try putting a jumper across the questionable switches (one at a time) and see if the heater turns on.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

In the Industry

You will probably see something like this when you take it out:

IMG_1973.jpg

The high limit would be the right most limit.
    Paul