Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Pour a slab for pump, doesn't look good...

1. Back To Top    #1

Pour a slab for pump, doesn't look good...

Did I mix this too dry? It doesn't look like I think it should. I've never done concrete before, did I mess this up? It's about an hour old.

24' AGP, 54" - 13,300 Gallons at 47".
    AquaRay Cleaner
    Hayward Swimpro Voyager Filter/2 Speed 2 HP Pump

2. Back To Top    #2

western NY

Re: Pour a slab for pump, doesn't look good...

There is a whole series of steps to follow when finishing concrete. After the pour, you need to screed it off. This can sometimes be as many as 3 -5 passes. This process is done with a screed board (length of 2x4) and done by working it back and forth in top of the forms to level off the concrete. It also starts to work the gravel down into the mix so it does not show on the surface. After that a method called floating is used. This is done to further refine the surface and bring more of the cream up to the surface. After that a finish trowel can be used to get a good looking surface. The timing of these steps is important and varies with the air temp and the amount of water in the mix.

3. Back To Top    #3
    Mexico, MO

Agree with Danpik. However, for an equipment pad, it should be ok.
    15'x48" 4500 gallon Intex pool, buried 1.5 ft. Pac-Fab Dynamo 3/4 hp pump. Hayward S180T sand filter, bought used. Taylor K-2006 test kit. Rocket mass heater based wood fired pool heater.

4. Back To Top    #4
    Silver Spring, MD

+1 for what Charlie_R said. Your concrete isn't perfect, but it will be just fine for an equipment pad.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

5. Back To Top    #5
    SW Louisiana