Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Advantage to running the pump at a lower speed

1. Back To Top    #1

Advantage to running the pump at a lower speed

Pool newbie here. I have a two speed pump but the pool tech that helped me "get started" said there was no real advantage to running the lower speed other than marginal energy savings. What did you mean by skimmer action?

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Advantage to running the pump at a lower speed

There is a large energy savings, usually around 50% saved on electricity by running on low speed.

This shouldn't be an issue with a two speed. Variable speed pumps can be turned down to such a low speed that debris is no longer drawn into the skimmer(s). With a two speed the lower speed should not have this problem.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3