Need Fencing help

G

I need to get some fencing installed. I'm limited to 4' tall as I'm on a corner. It's a quiet dead-end across from a park. I have a dog that I want to keep in, and I have the usual concerns about keeping others out. The pool has its own fence around it, but it still worries me (newbie here!).

I'm looking at 4' picket fences. Choices are PT posts or cedar posts. Which is better?

Should they be sunk in concrete? One installer concretes all posts; the others only do the gates.

For the pickets and rails, again the choices are PT or cedar.

I'm in NJ and we have carpenter bees that like cedar. I have an older fence that's in great shape, is all PT and has been here for years. But I know that PT methods have changed since that was installed. I've also heard that newer PT wood can twist and split.

I'm looking at fencing contractors, or I can use a handy-man and HD's pre-fab PT fence.

Any suggestions?

Thanks.

Sue

I am by no means an expert but I will give you my opinion and how I built my fence.

1. Use PT on any that will be in contact with the ground
2. Set ALL post in concrete.
3. On your pickets, I was going to say, use cedar, but then when I read you have carpenter ants I say go with the PT.
4. I would not use pre-fab.

Hope this helps

I would suggest galvanized steel posts set in concrete. Even PT wood will eventually rot if exposed to water long enough. Galvanized steel posts last practically forever. Wood has gone up in price so much that steel posts typically don't cost any more than wood.

"One installer concretes all posts; the others only do the gates."

I've never heard of wood posts being set into the ground without concrete, I'd stay away from that installer. Now I've seen steel posts pile-driven into the ground about 4' and that works OK, but I wouldn't do that with wood because of long-term moisture exposure.

"For the pickets and rails, again the choices are PT or cedar."