Paint Flaking in Western Virginia

I've lurked here for a while, but this is my first time posting.

My wife and I have been in this house about 3 years. The previous owners painted the bottom of this pool with an epoxy-type paint (over an older layer of paint), and now it's flaking quite badly.

DSC00906_zps1b208db4.jpg

Right now we're just trying to do whatever is cheapest to get the pool up and running for this year, but we're also considering what we should do for a long-term solution when we have the budget. Right now we're using a power washer and a tile remover tool to remove the flaking paint. Once we've done that we'll either leave the bottom as is or paint it again. There are a couple of issues though. There are seams in the concrete.

DSC00905_zps77341103.jpg

They had used some type of rubbery paint/putty in these seams, but the epoxy paint didn't stick to it very well. Any ideas on what we should use for these seams?

Also there are the seams between the wall panels.

DSC00904_zps96815541.jpg

They used silicon over these seams, which seamed to work, but will probably only last a few years.

We've considered installing a liner, but I have reservations there. I'm worried it won't fit well (we have built-tin step). Also the concrete deck is not in the best shape either and I'm worried we'd have trouble getting the coping installed.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

DSC00903_zpse6692678.jpg

:wave: Welcome to TFP!!!

Painting rarely recommended. It is usually at best a few years before it starts coming apart again.

Silicone is also not likely the correct solution for the seams ... although I am not sure what to recommend.