Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Pump speed to get baseline

  1. Back To Top    #1
    Modawg2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    270

    Pump speed to get baseline

    Probably a silly question but is there a particular pump speed I should run my VS pump to establish a baseline pressure for backwashing. I would assume the only thing I need to do is make sure my measurements are always on the same speed.
    ~15k gallons, 3'-5'-4' Figure 8 Shape In Ground
    Wetedge Satin Matrix Interior (Pebble)
    Paramount In-floor System
    Pentair IntelliFlo VS 3050, Pentair Triton II TR100 Sand Filter
    Pentair Intellichlor IC40 SWG

  2. Back To Top    #2
    mas985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA
    Posts
    11,482

    Re: Pump speed to get baseline

    The lower the RPM, the lower the PSI and the harder it is to see a change (and less accurate) so you are better off using a higher RPM if possible. But since you have an In-floor, that shouldn't be an issue because that probably needs fairly higher RPM anyway.
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump/Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, MaxFlo SP2303VSP, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Modawg2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    270

    Re: Pump speed to get baseline

    My high speed for my infloor is around 3000. My low speed is around 1500. Is the 3000 OK to use as my reference?
    ~15k gallons, 3'-5'-4' Figure 8 Shape In Ground
    Wetedge Satin Matrix Interior (Pebble)
    Paramount In-floor System
    Pentair IntelliFlo VS 3050, Pentair Triton II TR100 Sand Filter
    Pentair Intellichlor IC40 SWG

  4. Back To Top    #4
    mas985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA
    Posts
    11,482

    Re: Pump speed to get baseline

    Yes, 3000 would be a better reference than 1500. Clean the filter when the pressure rises about 25%.
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump/Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, MaxFlo SP2303VSP, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Modawg2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    270

    Re: Pump speed to get baseline

    What factors can cause a sand filter to have a high baseline?
    ~15k gallons, 3'-5'-4' Figure 8 Shape In Ground
    Wetedge Satin Matrix Interior (Pebble)
    Paramount In-floor System
    Pentair IntelliFlo VS 3050, Pentair Triton II TR100 Sand Filter
    Pentair Intellichlor IC40 SWG

  6. Back To Top    #6
    mas985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA
    Posts
    11,482

    Re: Pump speed to get baseline

    As compared to what?

    The filter pressure is related to the flow rate through the filter and all the plumbing post filter.
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump/Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, MaxFlo SP2303VSP, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Modawg2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    270

    Re: Pump speed to get baseline

    Well I guess I just feel that my pump pressure is always higher than what I read on here from other posters. It's currently at reading at 28 with 3000 rpm and it probably isn't much higher than it's baseline pressure. Even after long backwashes, cleaned baskets, it doesn't get much lower. I'm guessing my system is just been constructed to where I will have a higher psi?
    ~15k gallons, 3'-5'-4' Figure 8 Shape In Ground
    Wetedge Satin Matrix Interior (Pebble)
    Paramount In-floor System
    Pentair IntelliFlo VS 3050, Pentair Triton II TR100 Sand Filter
    Pentair Intellichlor IC40 SWG

  8. Back To Top    #8
    mas985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA
    Posts
    11,482

    Re: Pump speed to get baseline

    That pressure could be completely normal for your pool plumbing which is different for every pool. But In-floor cleaners can create fairly high pressure which is why they are so energy inefficient. Can you bypass the in-floor cleaner and then post the pressure?
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump/Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, MaxFlo SP2303VSP, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

  9. Back To Top    #9
    Modawg2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    270

    Re: Pump speed to get baseline

    I'm not 100% sure how to bypass the in-floor. The only thing I can think of is flipping the switch to run water to my water feature instead of going the way of the "Cleaning System". Would that be correct?

    ~15k gallons, 3'-5'-4' Figure 8 Shape In Ground
    Wetedge Satin Matrix Interior (Pebble)
    Paramount In-floor System
    Pentair IntelliFlo VS 3050, Pentair Triton II TR100 Sand Filter
    Pentair Intellichlor IC40 SWG

  10. Back To Top    #10
    mas985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA
    Posts
    11,482

    Re: Pump speed to get baseline

    That may be the only way. Not all pools with in-floors can bypass to standard returns. What kind of water feature is it?
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump/Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, MaxFlo SP2303VSP, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

  11. Back To Top    #11
    Modawg2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    270

    Re: Pump speed to get baseline

    A rock water feature, if that's what you mean.

    ~15k gallons, 3'-5'-4' Figure 8 Shape In Ground
    Wetedge Satin Matrix Interior (Pebble)
    Paramount In-floor System
    Pentair IntelliFlo VS 3050, Pentair Triton II TR100 Sand Filter
    Pentair Intellichlor IC40 SWG

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •