Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Pentair Dynamo 1.5 hp Pump Leak

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Central AL
    Posts
    59

    Pentair Dynamo 1.5 hp Pump Leak

    My 1.5 hp Dynamo pump is leaking where the pot mounts to the pump housing when the pump is off. The picture below shows where it is leaking. What holds the pot into the pump housing? The pot looks like it is sagging a little. Is there a way to tighten it from inside the pump housing. I have a new o-ring for the pot to housing joint and also for the pump housing to backplate.

    Thanks,

    Russ

    pump.jpg
    33' diameter, 25,000 gal Above Ground Pool
    Pentair Dynamo 1.0 hp, 2 speed pump (#340204)
    Pentair Sand Dollar 60 filter

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: Pentair Dynamo 1.5 hp Pump Leak

    That's a threaded connection with an o-ring seal. Take it apart and replace the o-ring and be sure lube it when putting it back together.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Central AL
    Posts
    59

    Re: Pentair Dynamo 1.5 hp Pump Leak

    Does the entire pot thread into the pump housing or is there a nut inside the housing that tightens the pot to the housing?

    Russ
    33' diameter, 25,000 gal Above Ground Pool
    Pentair Dynamo 1.0 hp, 2 speed pump (#340204)
    Pentair Sand Dollar 60 filter

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Willi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Florence, KY
    Posts
    69

    Re: Pentair Dynamo 1.5 hp Pump Leak

    Quote Originally Posted by RussH View Post
    Does the entire pot thread into the pump housing or is there a nut inside the housing that tightens the pot to the housing?

    Russ
    No nut, just threads in
    18' x 36' IG Vinyl 30K gallon, Hayward 1 1/2 HP pump and DE Filter hardpiped, Aqua Pro 1300 Electric Heat Pump.
    TF100 Test Kit on order !
    Commercial Popcorn machine, sno cone machine and cotton candy machine, lost my red nose.

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: Pentair Dynamo 1.5 hp Pump Leak

    As Willi said, it just threads into the front of the casing.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Central AL
    Posts
    59

    Re: Pentair Dynamo 1.5 hp Pump Leak

    It seems like it could be hard to get it to seal. What do you do if it tightens up before the pot is in the upright position? Back it off? Wont it leak?

    Russ
    33' diameter, 25,000 gal Above Ground Pool
    Pentair Dynamo 1.0 hp, 2 speed pump (#340204)
    Pentair Sand Dollar 60 filter

  7. Back To Top    #7
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Pentair Dynamo 1.5 hp Pump Leak

    The compression of the o-ring should give you enough of a range of rotation that seals that you can get it vertical without a problem.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Central AL
    Posts
    59

    Re: Pentair Dynamo 1.5 hp Pump Leak

    This pump is pretty well used up. The bearings are noisy on a cold start, I have had to replace the power cord due to damage and today the power switch lever broke off when I turned the pump on. Fortunately it broke in the on position, but cant turn it off without killing it at the breaker. I am not wanting to spend a lot on a replacement. A Pentair 1.5 hp like it or a 3/4 hp are about the same price. Would I likely regret stepping down to 3/4 hp? I get the feeling it makes too much flow now. The only thing I can think of that would be impacted would be vacuuming.

    Russ
    33' diameter, 25,000 gal Above Ground Pool
    Pentair Dynamo 1.0 hp, 2 speed pump (#340204)
    Pentair Sand Dollar 60 filter

  9. Back To Top    #9
    Mod Squad zea3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    9,200

    Re: Pentair Dynamo 1.5 hp Pump Leak

    Unless you get tons of leaves a 3/4 hp will do a decent job vacuuming. Have you looked into the 1 hp 2 speed pump? I have one that I run on low for everyday filtering and high for vacuuming.
    TFP Moderator
    Helpful links: TF Test Kits,TFP Pool School, PoolMath
    Vogue 21' round AG, Pentair 1 hp 2 speed pump, 36 sq ft DE filter, Hayward S180T 150# sand filter, Houston, Texas
    Love TFP? Become a
    TFP Supporter!

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Central AL
    Posts
    59

    Re: Pentair Dynamo 1.5 hp Pump Leak

    I had looked at the 3/4 hp 2 speed, but the 1 hp 2 speed may be a better choice.

    Everything I've seen says that it ships without a power cord. The cord I got as a replacement was a Pentair number 79137800 3 ft standard cord assembly. Any idea if that will work with the 1 hp, 2 speed pump?

    Does the pump have an off switch at the pump like the 1.5 hp single speed?

    Thanks,

    Russ
    33' diameter, 25,000 gal Above Ground Pool
    Pentair Dynamo 1.0 hp, 2 speed pump (#340204)
    Pentair Sand Dollar 60 filter

  11. Back To Top    #11
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: Pentair Dynamo 1.5 hp Pump Leak

    If you can tell us the model number of the pump you're looking at we can most likely tell you if it comes with a cord and/or switch.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Central AL
    Posts
    59

    Re: Pentair Dynamo 1.5 hp Pump Leak

    The pump I am looking at is a Pentair #340204.

    Russ
    33' diameter, 25,000 gal Above Ground Pool
    Pentair Dynamo 1.0 hp, 2 speed pump (#340204)
    Pentair Sand Dollar 60 filter

  13. Back To Top    #13
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: Pentair Dynamo 1.5 hp Pump Leak

    I believe that the model you listed does come with a cord and switch. At least the ones I've seen have.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Central AL
    Posts
    59

    Re: Pentair Dynamo 1.5 hp Pump Leak

    Pentair's web site says it doesnt come with a cord, so I called Pentair and they say it doesnt come with a cord or a switch.

    So, I would have to wire it. All I have at the pool is a 110V GFI outlet in some form of weatherproof box. I also have an Intermatic P1103FE timer in the circuit inside the house. I can put a GFI breaker in the breaker box for the circuit and put whatever type switch is required to operate the pump in the weatherproof box at the pool. I still need a way to turn the pump off at the pump for maintenance.

    What kind of wiring connectors does the pump have on it? Spade connectors? Pigtails?

    Here's the 110V outlet. I cant find and brand or model numbers on it. Is there a way to mount a standard light type switch in it? Would this Leviton 1286 be the correct switch type?

    http://www.leviton.com/OA_HTML/Produ...minisite=10251


    box.jpg


    Russ
    33' diameter, 25,000 gal Above Ground Pool
    Pentair Dynamo 1.0 hp, 2 speed pump (#340204)
    Pentair Sand Dollar 60 filter

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Central AL
    Posts
    59

    Re: Pentair Dynamo 1.5 hp Pump Leak

    For the record, the 340204 pump came with a switch but no cord. I'll move the new cord I got for the current pump to it for now.


    Russ

    switch.JPG
    33' diameter, 25,000 gal Above Ground Pool
    Pentair Dynamo 1.0 hp, 2 speed pump (#340204)
    Pentair Sand Dollar 60 filter

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •