Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Cartridge filter cleaning question

1. Back To Top    #1

Cartridge filter cleaning question

Hello!

We built our pool last year and have been using the TFP method, aside from using pucks over the winter. I noticed recently that our spa spillover hasn't been spilling water. Instead the hot tub water was stagnant. I asked my pool builder if I could have changed a setting on our intelliflo when I heated the pool a few times over the winter, but he advised that the problem was probably a dirty filter.

We have a pentair cartridge filter. Last night I disassembled the filter and hosed off the cartridges. The only problem is that there was about 6 inches of nasty brown water in the bottom part of the filter housing that I couldn't figure how to remove. I hosed off the 4 cartridges and put everything back together without getting that nasty water out. I'm still learning how to care for my pool and and after I finished reassembling everything, I was watching some youtube videos on cleaning pentair cartridge filters. In the videos the guy was able to drain the cartridge housing completely but his setup looked different than mine.

My spa spillover is working again but I can't stop thinking about that sludge I left in my cartridge filter. Do you think it's important to disassemble everything again and get that nasty water out, or will my now clean filters clean it up for me? I just don't want a hidden source if algae, but I'm not sure if some level of yuck is okay in a pool filter. Will it affect my sparkly pool?
    17,000 inground gunite pool finished June 2013. Pentair variable speed something or another. Polaris cleaner, inline rainbow chlorinator. Using trichlor until CYA reaches 50-60.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Cartridge filter cleaning question