Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Salt system vs. chlorine cartridge vs bbb method

1. Back To Top    #1

Salt system vs. chlorine cartridge vs bbb method

I live in Alabama and have a 18x36 vinyl pool with a salt water generating system. Both are approximately 10 years old. The control box for the swg is shot and I am not excited about buying a new one. I am looking for an alternative to the swg. I am interested in either a cartridge system like the pool frog or the bbb system. I have zero experience with either. I am interested in how the water for these 2 systems compares to that of a swg system, specifically any irritation or smell issues. I am also interested in a ball park guesstimate of the cost associated with the bbb system, the pool is used a good bit throughout the summer but just by my family(no big crowds). Any help?

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Salt system vs. chlorine cartridge vs bbb method

Welcome to TFP!

What kind of SWG? The Hayward has as very cheap fix for the common failure.

You will not find many, if any, people here that will recommend the pool frog.

Over long run the cost of a SWG is about the same as using bleach.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

Quote Originally Posted by jblizzle View Post
    Welcome to TFP!

What kind of SWG? The Hayward has as very cheap fix for the common failure.

You will not find many, if any, people here that will recommend the pool frog.

Over long run the cost of a SWG is about the same as using bleach.