Water looking a little cloudy after a heavy rain storm last night...

Feb 2, 2013
I'm a pool newbie with Mym pool installation being completed in May of 2013. I've kept it uncovered all winter and the water has stayed crystal clear. However, a heavy storm passed thru last night and brought heavy rains to our area and this morning the pool looked slightly cloudy. In the time I've had my pool it has never been anything but crystal clear. I admit, I am quite meticulous about keeping my pool leaf and dirt free and what I consider slight cloudiness might not be considered a problem for some people but it bothers me. So my question is this. What's causing the cloudiness? My PB suggested mixing 1/3 of a bag of shock in warm water in a large bucket and pouring that into the pool as I run the pool cleaner. Does this sound like a good plan of action? Or do I just let it go and see if it clears on it's own?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thank:p

Hi myoung36! I'd give it a couple of days and let the filter do it's job. Sometimes your CYA will get out of whack after a rainstorm. If it hasn't cleared up after a few days you might check your water chemistry and add accordingly. It's nothing to freak out about. Something I haven't seen mentioned here in a while that I had to learn as well...POP (Pool Owner Patience). :D It can be the hardest thing to learn! :p

That does not sound like a good "plan". Rain rarely causes a problem. I would suspect a chemistry issue. Our recommendations are based on test results and then careful dosing to achieve a desired result.

How are you testing your pool?
What are the test results?
How are you chlorinating?

Just saw you have a SWG. How often are you testing you FC and CC? If you need to supplement the FC, we recommend using liquid chlorine / bleach.