Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Replacing Superflo 1.5Hp Pump...No "B" Terminal on wiring forNew Pump

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    texas
    Posts
    6

    Replacing Superflo 1.5Hp Pump...No "B" Terminal on wiring forNew Pump

    Hello,

    I've recently purchased what I thought was an identical replacement pump, but as I study the wiring connections...

    the old pump had L1, L2, A, B, and ground terminals.
    the new pump has only L1, L2, A, and ground terminals.

    What should I do with the white wire that was connected to terminal "B" on the old pump?

    Thanks for reviewing!

  2. Back To Top    #2
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Replacing Superflo 1.5Hp Pump...No "B" Terminal on wiring forNew Pump

    You need to look at the wiring diagram for each pump and find corresponding connection points. The wiring diagram is almost always printed on a metal plate which is attached to the outside of the motor.

    Are either of the pumps (old and new) two speed pumps?
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    texas
    Posts
    6

    Re: Replacing Superflo 1.5Hp Pump...No "B" Terminal on wiring forNew Pump

    Quote Originally Posted by JasonLion View Post
    You need to look at the wiring diagram for each pump and find corresponding connection points. The wiring diagram is almost always printed on a metal plate which is attached to the outside of the motor.

    Are either of the pumps (old and new) two speed pumps?
    Thanks Jason. The wiring diagram on the old pump was easy to read, the new one...mostly illegible. Spent a good portion of the afternoon looking online for a better copy but had no luck. I'll attach a picture of what i'm seeing...IMG_0236[1].jpg

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    texas
    Posts
    6

    Re: Replacing Superflo 1.5Hp Pump...No "B" Terminal on wiring forNew Pump

    Jason, forgot to answer one of your questions...to the best of my knowledge its just one-speed.

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Re: Replacing Superflo 1.5Hp Pump...No "B" Terminal on wiring forNew Pump

    Is your supply voltage 120 or 240?

    What colors are the supply wires?

    Can you post a picture of the back of the old motor where the wires connected and also for the new motor?

    Can you post a picture of the full label from the old and new motor?

  6. Back To Top    #6
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Replacing Superflo 1.5Hp Pump...No "B" Terminal on wiring forNew Pump

    The photo you posted shows three connections: Line, Neutral, and Ground. Those correspond to L1, L2, and Ground when using a 230 volt configuration. And that should correspond to the three wires you have to connect to the pump. When setting up 115 volt connections black is normally Line (or L1), white is Neutral (or L2), and green is Ground. For 230 volt setups L1 and L2 are usually both black, though they can also be red or blue, and are interchangeable, while ground remains green.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    texas
    Posts
    6

    Re: Replacing Superflo 1.5Hp Pump...No "B" Terminal on wiring forNew Pump

    Quote Originally Posted by JamesW View Post
    Is your supply voltage 120 or 240?

    What colors are the supply wires?

    Can you post a picture of the back of the old motor where the wires connected and also for the new motor?

    Can you post a picture of the full label from the old and new motor?

    James, sorry for the late reply. I've been out of town the past few days. I won't be able to take pictures tonight but can do so tomorrow. Supply voltage is 240. The supply wires are essentially bare copper at the terminals..don't see a lot if insulation beyond them but they may be black. Pretty thick gage, though. Terminal A has a brown wire. Terminal B has a white wire. The ground wire is green.

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    texas
    Posts
    6

    Re: Replacing Superflo 1.5Hp Pump...No "B" Terminal on wiring forNew Pump

    Thanks, Jason. I've been out of town so sorry for the late follow-up. I appreciate the follow-up, and feel comfortable with what you mention above, but my concern is what to do with the white wire that used to connect to terminal "B" on the old pump. My best guess is to not connect it to anything, but I don't want to guess wrong with electricity.

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Re: Replacing Superflo 1.5Hp Pump...No "B" Terminal on wiring forNew Pump

    For a one speed, you should have two power wires that connect to L1 and L2 and a green wire that connects to the ground screw. I think that the other wires are the wires that go into the pump. You shouldn't have to do anything with those. Have you disconnected the power from the old pump?

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    texas
    Posts
    6

    Re: Replacing Superflo 1.5Hp Pump...No "B" Terminal on wiring forNew Pump

    Thanks, James. Power has been disconnected to the pump via the main breaker box on the house. Sounding like I should just cap off the white wire (and possibly brown as well)?

  11. Back To Top    #11
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Replacing Superflo 1.5Hp Pump...No "B" Terminal on wiring forNew Pump

    Are the brown and white wires internal to the pump? Or do they go somewhere outside of the pump? It is fairly common to have additional wires that are internal to pump that are used for things like setting what voltage the pump should run on. That kind of wire remains with the old pump, i.e. does not transfer to the new pump. If they connect to something outside of the pump you need to figure out what they do. About the only possibility I can think of is an external switch for a two speed pump, but you didn't mention it being a two speed, nor did the diagram look like a two speed diagram.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •