Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Pool Pump Upgrade HELP

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Pool Pump Upgrade HELP

    I could really use some help selecting the correct components to upgrade my system.

    To start here is a list of the existing equipment.
    Easy Touch Control Panel S7M120
    Sta-Rite filter P6E6G-208L
    Sta-Rite pump IC40 Chlorinator SR400NA
    Sta-Rite heater

    I would like to upgrade the pump motor to a variable speed model, but I don't know if I can just replace the motor and leave the pump assembly. Will a variable speed motor work with my existing control panel, or do I need to add something to the panel?

    My system is about 7 years old and I would like to see if it could be upgraded to be accessed via my Ipad. Can my existing Easy Touch control panel be upgraded and if so, what do I need to do it?

    Please let me know if any additional information is needed.

    Thanks for the help in advance.
    De3isit
    pool Info
    13,000 gallons inground w/ 6 jet spa
    Easy Touch 8 Panel, S7M120 Sta-Rite filter, SQS1202R pump motor, IC401 Chlorinator, SR400NA Sta-Rite heater

  2. Back To Top    #2
    linen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    8,649

    Re: Pool Pump Upgrade HELP

    Welcome to tfp, de3isit

    What is the reason you want to upgrade to a variable speed?

    Do you have any high volume water features such as waterfalls, spa jets, etc?

    What volume is your pool?
    TFP Expert who uses Pool School and my TF100 test kit along with PoolMath for my: Round 11K gallon AGP with deep end, 20" sand filter, Matrix 1hp 2spd, 6 2ftX20ft solar panels (and solar cover!), Intex SWCG (copper bars disconnected) and a Rubadub hot tub (chlorine). The SLAM process is not finished until: 1. CC < 0.5 ppm, 2. An OCLT < 1.0 ppm and, 3. The water is crystal clear.

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Pool Pump Upgrade HELP

    Welcome to TFP!!!

    Automation questions are some of the hardest for the forum to answer because so few members have experience with them. I am not sure what is required to give you Ipad access or what VS pumps are compatible.

    I also rarely see where someone has replaced just the motor with a true VS motor; while it is fairly common to just replace the motor with a 2-speed motor. Are you sure you need a true VS pump? A 2-speed motor can save a significant amount of electricity by running on low most of the time. Also most automation systems have no problem controlling a 2-speed pump as long as you have a 2nd high voltage relay available for the pump. If your electricity cost is not very expensive, I would recommend going the 2-speed motor route with the existing pump.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  4. Back To Top    #4
    bxcrwlly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    106

    Re: Pool Pump Upgrade HELP

    de3isit: I can't answer your pump question, but can suggest a place to look for iPad/iPhone automation. There is a company that makes an add on component to provide smart phone visibility/updates/alerts, etc. I've been looking into that possibility as well. I don't have any experience or reviews of their products. I posted a link here so you can check them out; however, pay particular attention to the WIKI they refer to containing additional specs regarding the add-on requirements, housing, wireless requirements, etc. They only support a few types of equipment.
    http://www.autelis.com/homeautomation/pool-spa.html
    11,600 gallon plaster salt pool & spa, IC20 SWG, IntelliPH, cartridge filter, 2.7HP IntelliFlo Variable Speed Pump, Gas Heater, Easy Touch System w/remote, 8 roof mounted solar panels

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Re: Pool Pump Upgrade HELP

    Quote Originally Posted by linen View Post
    Welcome to tfp, de3isit

    What is the reason you want to upgrade to a variable speed?

    Do you have any high volume water features such as waterfalls, spa jets, etc?

    What volume is your pool?
    I live in California o the electricity is pretty high. The local utilities are offering a couple hundred in rebates as well. My pool has a spa with 6 jets and a 10 foot spillway. The pool is about 13,000 gallons.
    pool Info
    13,000 gallons inground w/ 6 jet spa
    Easy Touch 8 Panel, S7M120 Sta-Rite filter, SQS1202R pump motor, IC401 Chlorinator, SR400NA Sta-Rite heater

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Pool Pump Upgrade HELP

    Given that you have a spa, you likely would not want to go to a smaller pump. Also, I am not sure the rebate would be applicable to just replacing the motor with a VS one (if you could find it), I think it is only good for specific pumps.

    Even with the rebate, it may be a good bit cheaper up-front if you just went with an equivalent 2-speed motor on your existing pump. Although in the long run a new VS pump may likely save more $ in reduced power consumption to offset the higher cost ... just realize this may take a few years to happen.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Re: Pool Pump Upgrade HELP

    Quote Originally Posted by jblizzle View Post
    Given that you have a spa, you likely would not want to go to a smaller pump. Also, I am not sure the rebate would be applicable to just replacing the motor with a VS one (if you could find it), I think it is only good for specific pumps.

    Even with the rebate, it may be a good bit cheaper up-front if you just went with an equivalent 2-speed motor on your existing pump. Although in the long run a new VS pump may likely save more $ in reduced power consumption to offset the higher cost ... just realize this may take a few years to happen.
    Which 2 speed motor would you recommend if just replacing the motor? Would my easy touch panel handle it?
    pool Info
    13,000 gallons inground w/ 6 jet spa
    Easy Touch 8 Panel, S7M120 Sta-Rite filter, SQS1202R pump motor, IC401 Chlorinator, SR400NA Sta-Rite heater

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Pool Pump Upgrade HELP

    I am not very good at finding pumps, some of the other members seem to be able to do that much faster than me. What I found with a quick search is this: SQS1202R you would also need a new shaft seal.

    If you automation has an empty relay, then I would think it should handle it.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  9. Back To Top    #9
    Administrator Leebo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Eastern Ohio
    Posts
    6,600

    Re: Pool Pump Upgrade HELP

    Sorry I can't answer more about your pump and motor, but I did want to drop by and Welcome you to TFP!

    I'm sure others will be here shortly to answer your questions in more detail!

  10. Back To Top    #10
    linen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    8,649

    Re: Pool Pump Upgrade HELP

    Quote Originally Posted by jblizzle View Post
    What I found with a quick search is this: SQS1202R you would also need a new shaft seal.
    Also the A.O. smith B2984 (also the B984), which I think is actually a little more energy efficient than the SQS1202R. Also, if you don't mind having the timer attached to the motor, the B2984T has the timer.
    TFP Expert who uses Pool School and my TF100 test kit along with PoolMath for my: Round 11K gallon AGP with deep end, 20" sand filter, Matrix 1hp 2spd, 6 2ftX20ft solar panels (and solar cover!), Intex SWCG (copper bars disconnected) and a Rubadub hot tub (chlorine). The SLAM process is not finished until: 1. CC < 0.5 ppm, 2. An OCLT < 1.0 ppm and, 3. The water is crystal clear.

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Re: Pool Pump Upgrade HELP

    So I upgraded existing pump to a two speed motor SQS1202R. I went to install it and realized the 2 speed relay was missing. Does anyone know what relay I would need to complete the job?
    pool Info
    13,000 gallons inground w/ 6 jet spa
    Easy Touch 8 Panel, S7M120 Sta-Rite filter, SQS1202R pump motor, IC401 Chlorinator, SR400NA Sta-Rite heater

  12. Back To Top    #12
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Pool Pump Upgrade HELP

    What do you mean by relay? You just need a SPDT switch to select the speeds ... like a home 3 way light switch.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Re: Pool Pump Upgrade HELP

    The easy touch panel calls out for a 2 speed motor relay 520198. Could I just use one of the spare relays in the panel and wire it like this?

    http://www.troublefreepool.com/threa...ation-question

    If I plug it into the 2 speed socket would it still behave correctly in the programming?
    pool Info
    13,000 gallons inground w/ 6 jet spa
    Easy Touch 8 Panel, S7M120 Sta-Rite filter, SQS1202R pump motor, IC401 Chlorinator, SR400NA Sta-Rite heater

  14. Back To Top    #14
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Pool Pump Upgrade HELP

    I do not know about the Easy Touch. In my ProLogic, I just have the high speed going through the pump relay and the low speed going through one of the other relays. Then in programming I tell it what relay is low speed and then it takes care of only switching on one of the relays at a time.

    AH ... yeah, I did like the picture in your link.

    Not sure what "2 speed socket" is.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •