Changing Underwater Pool Light?

Dec 16, 2013
Sacramento, CA
I'm new to pools and the previous owner left quite a bit to tune up around the pool and house. There is a switch to turn the pool light on, and another switch that activates the color changing feature of the pool light (two labeled switches on the wall). Other switches around the wall do work to operate the fountains, etc. so I'm guessing the bulb needs to be replaced.

Anything else to consider before replacing the bulb? My main question is how I go about doing that, any good DIY or tutorial, is it as simple as draining the pool to gain access and pretty self explanaory from there or are they made to be replaced under water?

Any good replacement brand or type? I read some other threads using standard LED floodlights that seem to be lasting a year+ and that being a good argument for the low price around $35 versus $300+ for pool versions.

I think there is supposed to be enough slack coiled into the light niche to allow you to remove it and service it on the deck, above the water line. That is how both of my lights were installed. As to how to service it once it's out... it would be highly dependent on the specific make/model.

No need to drain the pool. There is usually a single screw holding the light in the niche. Then hopefully there is enough cord to pull the light up on the deck so you can change the bulb. Usually a good idea to replace the gasket whenever you open it up.

Thanks, I'll see if I can get it out and do some investigation regards make/model and getting a replacement seal. From a bulb perspective, from the searching I did I saw a lot of $300-$500 being thrown around for replacement bulbs. Is that typical for a good pool bulb? Why are they so expensive? I see Leslie's has a bunch in the normal $10-$30 range...