Become a TFP Supporter Welcome to our new server and new forum software. Pool School

Thread: Weeds through liner

Weeds through liner

I discovered 2-3 weeds poking up through my ABG vinyl lined pool. I plan on pulling the weeds through, from the top, and then patching the bottom with a patch.
    My questions are:
    1) Does anyone have a better solution?
    2) Could I have done anything to prevent this? (I orginally put out the recommended weed killer prior to installation
    3) Is vegetation around the perimeter of a pool a bad thing? (wife likes the look)

Re: Weeds through liner

I am not an expert, but is it possible for a weed to grow through the vinyl liner unless there was a hole there first?

Kind of late now, but you could have put down some landscapping fabric to prevent the weeds from growing.
    - 18 x 36 Inground with Vinyl Liner
    - 30,000 Gallons
    - Pentair Clean and Clear 420 with a 1HP Pentair Whisperflow
    - Blue Diamond Robot Cleaner

cant see the weeds growing unless there was light.

must have been a hole there first me thinks
    15 x 36 Intex AGP
    External skimmer
    Mega sand filter
    1/3 HP pump
    http://s286.photobucket.com/albums/ll82/GazzMan9/

Senior Member The Mermaid Queen's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by scooter64
    I discovered 2-3 weeds poking up through my ABG vinyl lined pool. I plan on pulling the weeds through, from the top, and then patching the bottom with a patch.
    My questions are:
    1) Does anyone have a better solution?
    2) Could I have done anything to prevent this? (I orginally put out the recommended weed killer prior to installation
    3) Is vegetation around the perimeter of a pool a bad thing? (wife likes the look)

Welcome to TFP!

There are some weeds that can grow through the liner. No hole necessary!