Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: How to remove/replace the union fitting on top of pump

1. Back To Top    #1

How to remove/replace the union fitting on top of pump

Hello. I'm a new member and need some help. I'm a novice but can do some repair work on my equipment.

I have a Hayward Northstar pump and the union fitting on top of the pump just stared to leak, I figure the gasket. The pump is prior to year 2007 as far as replacement parts. It looks like it is threaded at the pump. My question is can I just unscrew the fitting at the pump and replace the gasket or maybe the kit? Or does the glued part of the pipe need be removed/cut?
    23K, IG, Gunite, Raised Spa with waterfall, Hayward 2hp 2 speed pump, Hayward SwimClear Cartridge Filter model 5025, SmartPure Oxidizer, Inline chlorinator, AquaLink RS PDA, Polaris 360 cleaner

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: How to remove/replace the union fitting on top of pump

Welcome to TFP!

If the pump uses a union fitting, then you can just unscrew it and check if the o ring is damaged. You should not need to cut any pipes unless the pump connection is a threaded fitting and not a union.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

In the Industry

+1 what jblizzle said
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

4. Back To Top    #4

Thanks for the quick reply. Enclosed are pics to ensure I described the fitting correctly. The leak is underneath the screw/nut. If the union fitting is unscrewed are there any precautions? Will it take a strap wrench or?