Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: SunTouch two solar valves

  1. Back To Top    #1
    Sticky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    WoyWoy Australia
    Posts
    90

    SunTouch two solar valves

    Hi

    I have to rejig my plumbing to get the VRV to stay closed by getting more pressure on the return side .

    I should be able to put a valve on the return solar pipe before it goes to the normal pool returns BUT.....

    I have notice that the deep reurn in solar mode is not working , when I block one of the surface returns air will start coming from the deep return .

    So I wish to put a two way actuated valve at the spot shown to direct all the water to the deep end . This valve will operated with the solar valve .

    This give me enough pressure to close the VRV direct warm water to the bottom where its coldest and when solar is not on the VF intelliflo will still have it full flow .

    I want to do this in solar only mode , I have a intellicom2 to operate the VF on external control so I use the VF menu instead of scrolling thru the Suntouch menu .

    Can this be done / can I use Valve A or B in Solar only mode .

    Dave
    Attached Images Attached Images
    7 meter by 2 Meter pebblecrete , VF intelliflo , Pentair ECO-CHLOR 25 , 5 helicol Sunx 40 solar panels & a Associated controls solar controller with an intellicom 3 to control the VF and relay to switch to valves .

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Sticky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    WoyWoy Australia
    Posts
    90

    Re: SunTouch two solar valves

    Can I get valve A or B to activate in Solar only mode when solar comes on.

    OR

    use AUX 1 relay for the booster pump to activate a actuator controller when the solar comes on.

    or use the pool/spa mode and give up the intellicom2 ????

    There must be a way to do this.

    or I might need a new controller.
    7 meter by 2 Meter pebblecrete , VF intelliflo , Pentair ECO-CHLOR 25 , 5 helicol Sunx 40 solar panels & a Associated controls solar controller with an intellicom 3 to control the VF and relay to switch to valves .

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Re: SunTouch two solar valves

    You could wire two actuators off of the one Solar connection.

    I would not put the load of both actuators on the Suntouch circuit board (Motherboard), but rather have the "Solar connection operate a relay which controls the two actuators attached to the original Suntouch 24VAC transformer wires.

    [attachment=1:jsp3sz63]24VAC.jpg[/attachment:jsp3sz63]

    [attachment=0:jsp3sz63]Dual actuators.jpg[/attachment:jsp3sz63]

    I can combine these two drawing with the proper connection if you can not visualize it.
    Easytouch, Intelliflo, Intellichem, Acid tank with pump, Intellichlor and Autelis network interface.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Sticky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    WoyWoy Australia
    Posts
    90

    Re: SunTouch two solar valves

    Hi Jerry
    So the red/white from the transformer would go to the relay . The black from the two actuators would connect to the black from the solar terminal .
    and the 4 others to the relay .
    The reds from both actuators would connect to the same pin on the relay
    same with the white ?? .
    After reading a few different threads here on TFPs I had given up on configuring the ST and was thinking along your lines . I thought it would be more complex but .

    A wiring diagram would be great if it's not to much . The 24vac relay would need how many poles ? .
    7 meter by 2 Meter pebblecrete , VF intelliflo , Pentair ECO-CHLOR 25 , 5 helicol Sunx 40 solar panels & a Associated controls solar controller with an intellicom 3 to control the VF and relay to switch to valves .

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Re: SunTouch two solar valves

    Here you go

    [attachment=0:1msp1s9x]Suntouch dual actuators.jpg[/attachment:1msp1s9x]

    You only need one of the power wires from the solar connector. With a voltmeter, you want the wire which is not normally powered, either the Red or White.
    Easytouch, Intelliflo, Intellichem, Acid tank with pump, Intellichlor and Autelis network interface.

  6. Back To Top    #6
    mas985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA
    Posts
    11,487

    Re: SunTouch two solar valves

    You don't want the VRV on the return side. Please read this.
    vacuum-release-not-closing-t72419-20.html#p602735

    Also, you should keep your posts together for history.
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump/Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, MaxFlo SP2303VSP, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Sticky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    WoyWoy Australia
    Posts
    90

    Re: SunTouch two solar valves

    Mas I will reply in that thread , I wanted a new thread because this is a different problem needing electrical expertise .

    Jerry I can not buy that relay in Australia cheapest I can find with shipping is $112.00 .

    I have found this http://australia.rs-online.com/web/p...elays/6138072/ is it an equivalent or could you find one that is please . http://australia.rs-online.com/web/c...urpose-relays/ .

    I don't understand why we cant buy such a simple thing here .
    7 meter by 2 Meter pebblecrete , VF intelliflo , Pentair ECO-CHLOR 25 , 5 helicol Sunx 40 solar panels & a Associated controls solar controller with an intellicom 3 to control the VF and relay to switch to valves .

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Re: SunTouch two solar valves

    Any 24VAC 2amp DPDT relay will work, normally the type depends on the space inside the enclosure (Small relay) or on a relay which has the ablilty to be mounted externally like the RIB2401D
    Easytouch, Intelliflo, Intellichem, Acid tank with pump, Intellichlor and Autelis network interface.

  9. Back To Top    #9
    Sticky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    WoyWoy Australia
    Posts
    90

    Re: SunTouch two solar valves

    Quote Originally Posted by jerryt



    You only need one of the power wires from the solar connector. With a voltmeter, you want the wire which is not normally powered, either the Red or White.
    So at the moment the red wire to the actuator is the powered wire , I have the intellicom2 connected to it . So the white wire would go to the relay ? and cap the red ? .
    7 meter by 2 Meter pebblecrete , VF intelliflo , Pentair ECO-CHLOR 25 , 5 helicol Sunx 40 solar panels & a Associated controls solar controller with an intellicom 3 to control the VF and relay to switch to valves .

  10. Back To Top    #10
    Sticky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    WoyWoy Australia
    Posts
    90

    Re: SunTouch two solar valves

    Also would the relay in the first link do it plugs into a board to attach the wires to .
    7 meter by 2 Meter pebblecrete , VF intelliflo , Pentair ECO-CHLOR 25 , 5 helicol Sunx 40 solar panels & a Associated controls solar controller with an intellicom 3 to control the VF and relay to switch to valves .

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Re: SunTouch two solar valves

    Red or white does not matter, you can reverse the logic at the actuator.

    The relay with base is fine as long as it is DPDT.
    Easytouch, Intelliflo, Intellichem, Acid tank with pump, Intellichlor and Autelis network interface.

  12. Back To Top    #12
    Sticky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    WoyWoy Australia
    Posts
    90

    Re: SunTouch two solar valves

    Jerry you have been so much help thanks !!!!! just one more question

    Ive ordered the relay and attached a pic of its wiring pin layout , do I have the N/C, N/O , and Comm in the right place ? .
    Attached Images Attached Images
    7 meter by 2 Meter pebblecrete , VF intelliflo , Pentair ECO-CHLOR 25 , 5 helicol Sunx 40 solar panels & a Associated controls solar controller with an intellicom 3 to control the VF and relay to switch to valves .

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Re: SunTouch two solar valves

    You are owning it, and appear to understand the schematic well.
    N/C, N/O, Comm, and 24VAC coil are correctly illustrated.
    Easytouch, Intelliflo, Intellichem, Acid tank with pump, Intellichlor and Autelis network interface.

  14. Back To Top    #14
    Sticky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    WoyWoy Australia
    Posts
    90

    Re: SunTouch two solar valves

    All thanks to you Jerry , once this is done I will look at the firmware issue .
    7 meter by 2 Meter pebblecrete , VF intelliflo , Pentair ECO-CHLOR 25 , 5 helicol Sunx 40 solar panels & a Associated controls solar controller with an intellicom 3 to control the VF and relay to switch to valves .

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Re: SunTouch two solar valves

    Quote Originally Posted by Sticky
    Quote Originally Posted by jerryt



    You only need one of the power wires from the solar connector. With a voltmeter, you want the wire which is not normally powered, either the Red or White.
    So at the moment the red wire to the actuator is the powered wire , I have the intellicom2 connected to it . So the white wire would go to the relay ? and cap the red ? .
    Just saw this question. I meant cap unused wires. If the red wire is used for the Intellicom2, you don't need to cap it.
    Easytouch, Intelliflo, Intellichem, Acid tank with pump, Intellichlor and Autelis network interface.

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Re: SunTouch two solar valves

    Sticky, how did this work out for you?

  17. Back To Top    #17
    Sticky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    WoyWoy Australia
    Posts
    90

    Re: SunTouch two solar valves

    It all worked out well , I have only just wired it up and it all works fine relay and second valve wise . thanks to Jerryt

    Iam running solar at 27gpm and may get it a bit lower as the specs for the panels for optimum heat exchange say 4-5gpm per panel , there are three panels .

    I may even add another panel it would heat the pool quicker and bring the needed flow rate up to 20gpm .

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •