Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Here comes the ice - now what?

1. Back To Top    #1

Here comes the ice - now what?

The forecast in the DFW area keeps getting worse. I am still a pool newbie. We don't winterize here, just let the pool run when it gets cold. They are now calling for lows in the teens, highs in the 20s and ice. Apparently a lot of ice. We are preparing to be without power as that looks like it will be a common problem. So if the power goes out, what am I doing about the pool equipment? I can prep stuff today, so any words of wisdom would be much appreciated. My equipment is behind a 6 foot tall fence on 3 sides and backs the house on the other. I could put a propane heater in the fenced area (plenty of room not to melt anything) and run it to keep that general area a bit warmer. Or could I just open the filter and inline skimmer cover up so that there is escape for expanding water and pray that is enough give in the system? Or should I even be worried?
    ~18,000 gallon
    DE filter/chlorine
    IG Grey Plaster
    25 year old pool w a facelift in 2014

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Here comes the ice - now what?

My plan would be to drain any above ground equipment if the power went out and stuff some cut up pool noodle material into the skimmer. You aren't likely to get any freezing deep enough into the water to harm your returns or skimmer plumbing.

You'll have two drains on your pump, and one on your filter. Best to find them now instead of 11pm with the lights out and ice everywhere.

It's important to shut the power to your pump off if you do that so it doesn't pump water everywhere if the power comes on.
    TFP Moderator
    20K Gallon 20X36 Vinyl Inground
    Hayward S244T Sand Filter with 1HP Whisperflo Pump. Liquidator C-201 and Solar Heat

3. Back To Top    #3

In the Industry

+1 what JohnT said.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter