Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Test Strips

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    4,052

    Test Strips

    The pool startup guy came today for the first chemical additions after the replaster. He tested the water with test strips. Keep in mind, nothing has been added to the water at all at this point. Test strips show CYA of 100. I told him there was no way that was accurate, and he insisted it was.

    This is why I don't trust pool maintenance people or test strips.
    Built in 1957 44,000 gallon in-ground, Wet Edge Primera Stone in Sky Blue, Intelliflo VF Pump, 600 lb. Pentair Triton II TR-100 Sand Filter, CircuPool RG 60 Plus SWG, TF-100 test kit
    If TFP has helped you, please click to SUPPORT TFP!

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Test Strips

    That certainly does not help their reputation
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  3. Back To Top    #3

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,077

    Re: Test Strips

    Unfortunately, your story is not at all unique.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    4,052

    Re: Test Strips

    You just have to love being able to do this stuff on your own. He even mildly pitched taking over the maintenance of my pool after start up. No thanks!
    Built in 1957 44,000 gallon in-ground, Wet Edge Primera Stone in Sky Blue, Intelliflo VF Pump, 600 lb. Pentair Triton II TR-100 Sand Filter, CircuPool RG 60 Plus SWG, TF-100 test kit
    If TFP has helped you, please click to SUPPORT TFP!

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Re: Test Strips

    Tell him he better alert the city that their water has CYA in it.
    Aaron
    [ Vogue Vectra 24' AG | Hard plumb: Hayward Power-Flo Matrix 1HP 2-speed, 27" sand filter & Pentair MiniMax 100 NG | Taylor K-2006 | Central IL ]
    Powered by: TFP, PoolMath & TFTestkits

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Smykowski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Gurnee, IL (North Suburban Chi-town)
    Posts
    3,065

    Re: Test Strips

    Quote Originally Posted by RobbieH
    I told him there was no way that was accurate, and he insisted it was.
    I would have loved to be a fly on the wall for that conversation! Maybe we could get Ashton Kutcher to do a TV show for us - "You've been TFP'd!!"
    33' round, 23,000 gal AG vinyl , 1HP 2spd PowerFlo Matrix downsized with 3/4HP impeller (X2), Hayward S180T 150# sand filter (X2), Hayward H250 NG heater Pool Store year 1 - $850 for 2 months; Pool Store year 2 - $440 for 2 months, TFPC year 1 - $170 for 4 months; TFPC year 2 - $95 for 4.5 months
    The most important article on this site - The ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Patrick_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Midland TX
    Posts
    15,001

    Re: Test Strips

    So, did he say how you got Cya in there? I'd have been pressing them hard for answers and scared them off even thinking of servicing mine. That is just crazy talk.
    TFP Moderator
    Essential Links:
    ABC's Of Pool Chemistry, Test Kits, SLAM Your Pool
    28K Gal IG FreeForm, CLI Quartz, Pentair 36"SF & VS Pump, Dolphin M5, Rheem

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Ellington, CT
    Posts
    243

    Re: Test Strips

    Quote Originally Posted by RobbieH
    Test strips show CYA of 100. I told him there was no way that was accurate, and he insisted it was.
    Have you done your own test? This would be a perfect way to refute the "cya sticks to the wall" argument of of another thread

    edit:
    duh, " after the replaster"
    30,000 gal, 20 x 40 ft vinyl, IG, installed 2006
    1 HP WhisperFlo pump, 60 sqft Pentair Quad D.E., Liquidator(8 gallon) with 3/8 upgrade,TigerShark cleaning robot
    TFTestkits TF-100 with SpeedStir,WS
    A proud practitioner of TFP since 2013

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    4,052

    Re: Test Strips

    I haven't, because we haven't had any sun at all since the pool was filled. I'm going to take a stab at doing the CYA test today as best I can. There's no way there was 100ppm CYA in the fill water though, and he's using CalHypo to chlorinate the pool and bring the CH up (I looked at his bucket), so no CYA is going in. Besides, he was testing before a single thing went in the pool anyway.

    I'll say this too, he doesn't know how to do the tests properly. I did the right thing taking control of my pool from almost day one. The short story is this: when I first bought the house I had a company come out. He dumped chlorine in and swept the pool, never tested anything. He told me the maintenance costs were going to be 2x the quoted amount since I had a sand filter. I found this site, asked some questions, then told them to never come back.
    Built in 1957 44,000 gallon in-ground, Wet Edge Primera Stone in Sky Blue, Intelliflo VF Pump, 600 lb. Pentair Triton II TR-100 Sand Filter, CircuPool RG 60 Plus SWG, TF-100 test kit
    If TFP has helped you, please click to SUPPORT TFP!

  10. Back To Top    #10
    Administrator Leebo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Eastern Ohio
    Posts
    6,600

    Re: Test Strips

    It's been a few years that we switched to chlorine from baquacil. Our baquacil levels are still almost perfect using their strips however.

    Funny, cause when using the Baqua system, we never could get those levels correct!!

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    4,052

    Re: Test Strips

    Well, I can't measure CYA today. He just dumped 2 lbs of powder CYA in my skimmer. I asked him about it and he said he did the same thing yesterday, so my CYA measurements aren't going to be accurate for a long time.

    I did just run a CH test. He said I was at 250 before adding any CalHypo. I just measured 180. FC is only at 4, CC is at 1. pH is 7.5, so at least that's good.
    Built in 1957 44,000 gallon in-ground, Wet Edge Primera Stone in Sky Blue, Intelliflo VF Pump, 600 lb. Pentair Triton II TR-100 Sand Filter, CircuPool RG 60 Plus SWG, TF-100 test kit
    If TFP has helped you, please click to SUPPORT TFP!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •