Does pool water need to be replaced?

JT2006

LifeTime Supporter
Jul 1, 2013
Southwest Arizona (Yuma)
I'm still a newbie and learning but this doesn't make a whole lot of sense to me?

I live in Southwestern Arizona so freezing is not an issue. My buddy and I were talking this morning and he says he plans on draining his pool next weekend. When I asked why he said to "replace" the water?

I have never heard of this but he says that you are supposed to do this every year? Because the pool water gets contaminated with minerals and other biproducts of chlorine?

Is this accurate?

In a properly maintained pool, no. However, if the CYA gets too high, or if the CH gets too high, the only way to remove it is through water replacement.

Edit: I guess your statement is technically correct. If the sole source of chlorination is Dichlor, trichlor, or cal-hypo, CYA and CH are the byproducts of chlorination, and yes, they need to be removed through water replacement. If you only use liquid chlorine (like many of us do), the only byproduct is salt, which can be left in the water.

Given the hard water we have, high evaporation rates, and lack of rain, the CH will tend to climb faster than other parts of the country. As it get higher, you can compensate and avoid problems by keeping the TA and pH a little lower. But, eventually this becomes impractical as the CH approaches 1000ppm and you will need to drain and replace water. Every year seems pretty excessive though for CH getting too high unless you are also using cal-hypo. I would guess the CH will climb pretty high in 3-5 years though.

This all goes back to understanding and testing the chemistry and knowing what your pool needs.

If you are using the wrong kind of chlorine, then the CH and CYA will get too high and require water replacement .... especially in our environment where we do not get a lot of rain dilution and we do not partially drain for winter closing.