Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: my first pool just filled - need help and reassurance!!!

1. Back To Top    #1

my first pool just filled - need help and reassurance!!!

Hi!

So my very first pool has just finished filling like 2 days ago, I have no experience what so ever and I am really worried about screwing up my beautiful new pool. I have been on the site constantly the past few months trying to learn all I can about how to care for my pool. I have been reading pool school (which I am really diggin' even tho my head feels a little overwhelmed) and I am trying to figure things out but I need some help.

I took a water sample to Leslie's today -I know, I know, I need to get my own kit :P but that is what the PB told me to do. These are the results:

FC 0
    TC 0
    CH 220
    CYA 99
    TA 120
    pH 7.8
    TDS 500
    Phos 0

I haven't added anything to my pool so my confusion is where the heck did all the CYA come from?
    And from what I am reading that is way too high and the only way to bring it down is to add water, but that is the only thing I have added. I am super confused.

Also I am concerned because I ended up with the pool frog system and I am afraid it is going to cause me problems but I don't really know what to do about it. Can I just not use the system and monitor the chemicals myself or does it have to be disconnected?

I don't mean to sound stupid but this is all very new to me and I dont want to do anything that will cause serious damage. Plus I saw a link on here to a video about a pool popping out of the ground and I am now having nightmares about that

Thanks in advance
    12k gal, IG pebble, Pentair sta-rite system 3 cartridge filter, Pentair Intelliflo VS pump, A&A leaf vac, A&A quik skim, A&A infloor cleaning

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: my first pool just filled - need help and reassurance!!!

Welcome to the forum!