New to me pool with a home

Outofbounds

Oct 8, 2013
Gulf Breeze, FL
This week I closed on my new pool with a house that we will sleep in. I've never maintained a pool, but I've been reading the forums/Pool School and decided that I even as a noob, will be able to handle it! I ordered my TF-100, received it after two days and attempted my first measurements. Since we haven't moved in, and I don't have tools available, I didn't cut the top of the CYA bottle, DOH, so I don't have that measurement. :oops: I'll fix that pesky top of the bottle problem tomorrow and know more. :)

I also noticed that the pool's SWG has an Error 94, which is probably the kiss of death for the SWG, and I found a bucket of tabs and a carboy of Chlorine in a shed. So my expectation is that the SWG is dead, and has been for a while. :rant:

But anyhow, here are the measurements:

FC = 0
CC = 0
TA = 130
CH = 260
CYA = ????
SALT = 3080

Interested to know any thoughts on where to start.

Well I am also a newbie but here is my 2 cents,

Your FC is too low go to the following page and read about how to increase your FC and how to calculate things using the pool calculator

pool-school/recommended_levels

pool-school/types_chlorine_pool

http://www.poolcalculator.com/

The pool calculator may seem complicated but you just out your current value in one column and the desired value in the other one besides it, plug in your other readings and read how much of what chemical you need to add.

You definitely want to get some chlorine in there. Since you don't know the CYA level, adding liquid chlorine (bleach) is the better way to go for now. Did you measure the pH?