Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: using a taylor k-2006 for bromine

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
    Posts
    40

    using a taylor k-2006 for bromine

    Can someone please walk me through using my chlorine reagents to test for bromine? I have R-0870, r-0871, and R-0003.
    Thank you in advance!
    16' x 48" intex ultra frame above ground pool 5000g
    one speed Filter Pump with 1,500 gallon (5,678 L) per hour flow rate
    340g FreeFlow Solstice Spa, 1.5 hp two speed pump, 50 sq ft. filter

  2. Back To Top    #2
    linen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    8,649

    Re: using a taylor k-2006 for bromine

    Edit: strikethough the mistake, correction in red

    Use it the same as you would testing for chlorine but multiply your result by 2.25. For example, using the 10 ml sample size, [s:35t236q9]instead of multiply your result by 10, you would multiply by 22.5[/s:35t236q9] if you got a result for FC of 10 ppm, then bromine would be 22.5 ppm. An example: (20 drops/2)*2.25= 22.5 ppm Free Bromine.
    TFP Expert who uses Pool School and my TF100 test kit along with PoolMath for my: Round 11K gallon AGP with deep end, 20" sand filter, Matrix 1hp 2spd, 6 2ftX20ft solar panels (and solar cover!), Intex SWCG (copper bars disconnected) and a Rubadub hot tub (chlorine). The SLAM process is not finished until: 1. CC < 0.5 ppm, 2. An OCLT < 1.0 ppm and, 3. The water is crystal clear.

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
    Posts
    40

    Re: using a taylor k-2006 for bromine

    Thanks!
    16' x 48" intex ultra frame above ground pool 5000g
    one speed Filter Pump with 1,500 gallon (5,678 L) per hour flow rate
    340g FreeFlow Solstice Spa, 1.5 hp two speed pump, 50 sq ft. filter

  4. Back To Top    #4
    linen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    8,649

    Re: using a taylor k-2006 for bromine

    I made a mistake...see my fixed post above
    TFP Expert who uses Pool School and my TF100 test kit along with PoolMath for my: Round 11K gallon AGP with deep end, 20" sand filter, Matrix 1hp 2spd, 6 2ftX20ft solar panels (and solar cover!), Intex SWCG (copper bars disconnected) and a Rubadub hot tub (chlorine). The SLAM process is not finished until: 1. CC < 0.5 ppm, 2. An OCLT < 1.0 ppm and, 3. The water is crystal clear.

  5. Back To Top    #5

    TFP Guide

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    New Brunswick Canada
    Posts
    819

    Re: using a taylor k-2006 for bromine

    Easier to just use 25 ml of water and then each drop is .5 bromine

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
    Posts
    40

    Re: using a taylor k-2006 for bromine

    Yes that us much easier! Thanks!
    16' x 48" intex ultra frame above ground pool 5000g
    one speed Filter Pump with 1,500 gallon (5,678 L) per hour flow rate
    340g FreeFlow Solstice Spa, 1.5 hp two speed pump, 50 sq ft. filter

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Re: using a taylor k-2006 for bromine

    For my Spa - I am using the K-2006 and when I test for the Bromine instead of the test going clear when I add R-0871 it turns brown. my Bromine is extremely high right now because I just started up the spa (over 40 ppm) and added a fresh fill and new bromine and chlorine to shock. Is the brown color normal for this test when you test bromine?
    18 x 40 inground pool, 27,000 gallons Built in 2012. Vinyl with a SWG. SwimClear cartridge filter by Hayward C3030, Aqua Rite SWG T-Cell 15. Hayward SP2610X15.

  8. Back To Top    #8
    linen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    8,649

    Re: using a taylor k-2006 for bromine

    Quote Originally Posted by jewing
    For my Spa - I am using the K-2006 and when I test for the Bromine instead of the test going clear when I add R-0871 it turns brown. my Bromine is extremely high right now because I just started up the spa (over 40 ppm) and added a fresh fill and new bromine and chlorine to shock. Is the brown color normal for this test when you test bromine?
    From the extended test kit directions:
    3. Using the small spoon shaped end of the dipper, add one heaping dipper, or two level dippers, of R-0870 and swirl to mix. If the sample turns pink for a moment and then turns clear again, or if it turns brown, add another dipper of R-0870. If the sample remains clear the entire time, your FC level is probably zero, however it is best to verify that with an OTO chlorine test, since the FAS-DPD test is prone to the occasional false zero.
    TFP Expert who uses Pool School and my TF100 test kit along with PoolMath for my: Round 11K gallon AGP with deep end, 20" sand filter, Matrix 1hp 2spd, 6 2ftX20ft solar panels (and solar cover!), Intex SWCG (copper bars disconnected) and a Rubadub hot tub (chlorine). The SLAM process is not finished until: 1. CC < 0.5 ppm, 2. An OCLT < 1.0 ppm and, 3. The water is crystal clear.

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Re: using a taylor k-2006 for bromine

    Thank you so much. I was using the kit incorrectly. I was counting the 25 ml as 10 ppm per drop. My bromine is not too high. Thank you so much!!!
    18 x 40 inground pool, 27,000 gallons Built in 2012. Vinyl with a SWG. SwimClear cartridge filter by Hayward C3030, Aqua Rite SWG T-Cell 15. Hayward SP2610X15.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •