Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Aqua rite Turbo Cell dead?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    41

    Aqua rite Turbo Cell dead?

    Is there a way to tell if the Turbo Cell is gone to the Great Pool Supply Warehouse in the sky?
    The pool was installed May 2004.
    The display says the salt is 2900-3100 but the water tastes salty.

    The manual says the nominal cell voltage should be between 22-25V when generating. The last voltage reading was 26.2V.
    The nominal current should be 4.5-7.8. The last current reading was 4.19 A.
    The current and voltage seem to be erratic. They vary between 26-28V and 1.8-4.1A.

    I have been running the pool for 14 hrs a day at a 50% setting.

    I have to add bleach to keep the FC near 3.

    Here are the pool chem parameters:
    FC 3
    TC 0
    pH 7.8
    TA 120
    CH not tested
    CYA 75-80

    Any ideas would be helpful.
    Steve
    27,000 gal Vinyl Grecian L, Hayward 1 HP pump, Hayward sand filter, Aqua Rite Chlorinator,
    Polaris P955, TF-100, Speed Stir, 400sqft solar panels.
    Jacuzzi J365

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Alamo, CA
    Posts
    187

    Re: Aqua rite Turbo Cell dead?

    I would check the salt level with a more accurate indicator, such as the strips or a pool store test. Assuming that's all good, I'd inspect and clean the cell following the manufacturer's directions.
    blubluenoiseise

    My pool: 14,750 gallons in-ground plaster
    FAFCO Solar panels (seven 4' x 12') with a Goldline automatic controller
    1/2 HP WhisperFlo filter pump, Kreepy Krauly cleaner, Cartridge Filter
    Aquarite SWG, Satisfied user of the TF-100 Test Kit

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    41

    Re: Aqua rite Turbo Cell dead?

    Thanks for the reply.

    I forgot to mention that I cleaned the Turbo cell yesterday.
    It did not seem "dirty".
    Steve
    27,000 gal Vinyl Grecian L, Hayward 1 HP pump, Hayward sand filter, Aqua Rite Chlorinator,
    Polaris P955, TF-100, Speed Stir, 400sqft solar panels.
    Jacuzzi J365

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Coastalish 'down easter'
    Posts
    4,160

    Re: Aqua rite Turbo Cell dead?

    Steve, something's not right with the cell as you can tell by the volts and amps . The easiest way to see if it's the cell, is to put a new cell on and see what the unit reads on diagnostic. We carry a spare cell on our van for just this reason. It'd be a good idea to be sure it's the cell before buying a new one, just to make sure it's not a motherboard problem! If you have a good relationship with a local pool company, they might be willing to lend you a cell for an hour to check your unit - especially if they are the ones you would buy a new cell from.

    Have you had any severe thunderstorms lately - sometimes a close lightning strike can damage the cell, motherboard, pump, heater... etc.
    Luv& Luk
    -Ted

    Having done construction and service for 4 pool companies in 4 states starting in 1988, what I know about pools could fill a couple of books - what I don't know could fill a couple of libraries :-D

    POOL SCHOOL, TF Testkits, Jason's Pool Calculator, CYA vs. cl chart, (Just a few DARNED handy links!)

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    41

    Re: Aqua rite Turbo Cell dead?

    Unfortunately, I do no have ready access to a new/different cell. I hate to trouble shoot with the Visa card.

    We have not had a lightning event.

    I have also had a problem with algae for the latter 1/4 of last season and earlier this year.

    I am thinking the Turbo cell is done!

    Thanks for the reply
    Steve
    27,000 gal Vinyl Grecian L, Hayward 1 HP pump, Hayward sand filter, Aqua Rite Chlorinator,
    Polaris P955, TF-100, Speed Stir, 400sqft solar panels.
    Jacuzzi J365

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Guest

    Re: Aqua rite Turbo Cell dead?

    I would be interested in knowing your calcium hardness. Why was it not tested? Calcium scaling will shorten cell life.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    41

    Re: Aqua rite Turbo Cell dead?

    CH = 80
    Dunno why I did not check it!

    I have read varying recommendations for CH. I have read that lower values are better for IGV.

    Won't lower values of CH preclude Ca scaling?
    Steve
    27,000 gal Vinyl Grecian L, Hayward 1 HP pump, Hayward sand filter, Aqua Rite Chlorinator,
    Polaris P955, TF-100, Speed Stir, 400sqft solar panels.
    Jacuzzi J365

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    41

    Re: Aqua rite Turbo Cell dead?

    New information on the Aqua rite issues.
    Called Hayward (Aqua Rite), they suggested that I have the salt level checked at a separate place.
    The pool place checked the salt with a DS meter. The salt level was 2800-2900. Which is consistent with the display of 3100 this afternoon.

    I have found that another pool place has a tester for the cells. Off to there tomorrow to get the cell checked.
    Steve
    27,000 gal Vinyl Grecian L, Hayward 1 HP pump, Hayward sand filter, Aqua Rite Chlorinator,
    Polaris P955, TF-100, Speed Stir, 400sqft solar panels.
    Jacuzzi J365

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    41

    Re: Aqua rite Turbo Cell dead?

    Had cell tested today.

    Cell is dead.

    I have a new cell installed. Well see what happens with pool levels.

    Thanks for all the replys.
    Steve
    27,000 gal Vinyl Grecian L, Hayward 1 HP pump, Hayward sand filter, Aqua Rite Chlorinator,
    Polaris P955, TF-100, Speed Stir, 400sqft solar panels.
    Jacuzzi J365

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •