25,000 gal. salt
    Tagelus TA-1000
    Intermatic timer
    Pentair salt cell
    One spitting-frog fountain
    4 returns
    Two skimmers
    One drain
    No heaters, solar WHATS?, or any other peripherals.

And one dead A.O.Smith motor!

Had to take it apart and replumb several leaks last month, I had to un-clamp the housing (I'm new to the terminology) and freed up the stuck impeller when it would only him with no flow. In doing so I did a quick on and off. Glad I did. I noticed it spins off-axis and was digging a rut into its outer body. I can simply replace the motor with a updated model, but it would guarantee we continue to get poor performance from a loud machine. I know it's poor because I realized that it's the most energy-hog device in our house and that was confirmed when I cut the timer from 8-12 hrs a day to 5-6 and the last bill reflected that. It died today.

To the left is us getting a WhisperFlo like this: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002AL ... d_i=507846

and to the right is us getting smart with a variable, but leading us to a considerable world of confusion: go sub-$500 and stick with what we know and stay completely electro-mechanical while not enjoying much energy savings -OR- go $1,000+ with a smart system that will no doubt save us big time, but also fall prey to the uncool possibility of the most common failure I read about, the control panel/circuit getting waterlogged and dying a mere months after warranty runs out!

We're covering the 25,000 pool tomorrow until we get this situated. My wife frequents this site and thought y'all might have a strong preference of "cheap" but expensive vs. expensive but potentially expensive again.
    Pear shaped ? x 43', ~30K gallons | Vinyl Liner | ? HP Pentair pump | Hayward Sand Filter | (unused) Rainbow 320 Chlorinator | No automatic cleaner
    Someone once told me: There are two good days when a house has a pool; the day you move in and the day you move out.

2. Back To Top    #2