Jeremy in New Mexico

Hi, everyone. I've been a pool operator for a few years, certified for a few months, and trying to grasp as much as I can ASAP. I'm certified in drinking water and wastewater systems also; there is a lot of overlap but much that's new to me as well. My pool is filled & heated w/ mineral water from two hot springs, with some flowthrough, so water chemistry gets complicated.

I'd love to hear from anyone else operating a mineral-water pool.

Jeremy

Welcome to TFP! :wave:

You might be interested in Certified Pool Operator (CPO) training -- What is not taught.

Are you still using chlorine in your mineral-water pool? By minerals, I presume you mean primarily harder water with magnesium and calcium, correct? If that is the case, you treat it just like any other pool that has a higher Calcium Hardness (CH) level. If the minerals include other metals such as iron, then that's more like using well water and requires techniques to avoid metal staining. Some people use water filters for the fill water to remove metals while others use metal sequestrants and try to keep the pH somewhat lower.

If you get yourself a proper test kit (see Test Kits Compared), then you can give us a full set of water chemistry numbers.

Hi, chem geek. Nice to hear from you. I've been lurking for awhile and have read through both threads. I appreciate the info very much. The minerals in the pools are mostly iron and a bit of arsenic. The facility is more than a hundred years old, so there is a lot of folklore and imagination in what our guests hear. The pool itself is very old, and the plaster is permanently stained brown. That's the way the owner wants it...rustic (rusty?).