Chandler, AZ
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pentair Intellichlor IC-40
So I went to the pool store to pick up some stabilizer and of course they want to test your water. I said I was OK, but thanks anyways. I then wanted to know their price on liquid chlorine and he was saying that he wasn't a fan of it... because it had salt in it.

I am new to all of this.................

..... but I've never heard that liquid chlorine had salt in it. If it does, then it must be a negligible amount.

So all I could think about was... of course he doesn't like liquid chlorine. He likes tablets... because tablets generally throw other things off like pH or CH... which in turn causes you to come back and buy more of his products. All of this of course was after he tested someone's water in front of me, of course telling them that their water was about half a day away from being a Florida Everglade Swamp. For granted, it may have been... since their chlorine was zero.

Anyways, am I missing something on the chemistry lesson here, does liquid chlorine have salt in it... and if so... how much?

Chlorinating liquid and bleach have salt in them because of the Chlor-Alkali process that makes the chlorine. Electrolysis similar to what is done in a saltwater chlorine generator produces chlorine gas (except that this is extracted as a gas and not just dissolved in water). This is then combined with a solution of sodium hydroxide that is also produced from the electrolysis. So you mix them and get:

Cl2(g) + NaOH ---> NaOCl + NaCl
Chlorine Gas + Sodium Hydroxide ---> Sodium Hypochlorite + Sodium Chloride

For every 10 ppm Free Chlorine (FC) in chlorinating liquid or bleach, there is also around 8-9 ppm salt. When the chlorine gets used/consumed, there is another 8-9 ppm salt for a total of 17 ppm salt.