Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Salt in Liquid Chlorine?

1. Back To Top    #1

Salt in Liquid Chlorine?

So I went to the pool store to pick up some stabilizer and of course they want to test your water. I said I was OK, but thanks anyways. I then wanted to know their price on liquid chlorine and he was saying that he wasn't a fan of it... because it had salt in it.

I am new to all of this.................

..... but I've never heard that liquid chlorine had salt in it. If it does, then it must be a negligible amount.

So all I could think about was... of course he doesn't like liquid chlorine. He likes tablets... because tablets generally throw other things off like pH or CH... which in turn causes you to come back and buy more of his products. All of this of course was after he tested someone's water in front of me, of course telling them that their water was about half a day away from being a Florida Everglade Swamp. For granted, it may have been... since their chlorine was zero.

Anyways, am I missing something on the chemistry lesson here, does liquid chlorine have salt in it... and if so... how much?
    NEW POOL: 11k IGP, Pebbletec, Hayward Pro-Grid 3620 D.E. Filter, 1HP Pentair?/Emerson
    OLD POOL: 12.3k IGP, Pebbletec, Pentair 60 D.E. Filter, 1HP Pentair/Emerson + 1HP Pentair waterfall, Pentair IC40, and borated

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Salt in Liquid Chlorine?

bleach = sodium hypochlorite

so yes has salt, but not enough to worry about
    12000g outdoor, inground gunite, pebbletec. Cartridge filter. 2.0 HP Jandy pump, taylor test kit
    399,000 BTU Raypak LPG Heater, stenner pump

3. Back To Top    #3